HELSUS Visitors

HELSUS welcomes international research visitors, who contribute to the intellectual community and the interdisciplinary research done within HELSUS.

Seona Candy is a research fellow with the Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute at the University of Melbourne in the areas of food and urban systems. Her earlier research work used scenario modelling to link land and resource use with food consumption at a national level on an Australian Research Council Linkage project, titled 'Modelling policy interventions to protect Australia's food security in the face of environmental sustainability challenges’ (LP120100168), and at a city level as a joint chief investigator of the first phase of the Foodprint Melbourne Project funded by the Lord Mayor's Charitable Foundation.

More recently, she has been involved in two projects funded by the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living. The recently completed Visions and Pathways 2040 (VP2040) project was concerned with developing visions, scenarios and pathways for transitioning to low-carbon in Australian cities. The ongoing Future Cities Distributed Infrastructure (FCDI) Project aims to identify opportunities across Melbourne where critical infrastructure services like energy, food, water and waste can be delivered in a way that is more distributed to reduce carbon emissions, improve urban resilience and transform cities.

She is currently working at HELSUS in collaboration with Dr Katriina Soini at LUKE as a visiting researcher on a project investigating the role of distributed food systems in post-carbon resilient cities. It forms part of the broader FCDI project, bringing together aspects of critical infrastructure, ecosystem services and urban planning from a food systems perspective.

Tahnee Prior is a Ph.D. Candidate in Global Governance at the Balsillie School of International Affairs, University of Waterloo, as well as a visiting researcher at the Helsinki Institute for Sustainability Science in Finland and the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis in Laxenburg, Austria. She holds a Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholarship and Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship.

Her doctoral work in global environmental governance examines the role of legal systems in maintaining or preventing our ability to adapt to rapidly changing and complex environments, like the Arctic. Together with colleagues at the University of Lapland and the University of Helsinki, Tahnee is co-organizing a NordForsk-funded event titled "Women of the Arctic" at the 2018 UArctic Congress in Helsinki. She has also written on gender and the circumpolar North as a team member of a Finnish Academy project on “Human Security as a Promotional Tool for Societal Security in the Arctic” and as a contributing author to the 2016 Arctic Resilience Report.

Previously, she was the lead author of a Finnish Foreign Ministry project at the intersection of gender, climate change, and human rights. In 2016, Tahnee was humbled to land on Corporate Knight’s #30under30 list of Sustainability Leaders in Canada. 

You can follow her on Twitter @tahnsta.

Laura Verbrugge is a postdoctoral researcher in the Water Engineering and Management Group at the University of Twente (The Netherlands). She was awarded a Frye Stipendium award for her PhD thesis ‘Going global: perceiving, assessing and managing biological invasions’ in 2014. She is a member of the Management Committee of the COST Action CA17122 on Citizen Science and Invasive Alien Species (IAS) and the International Association for Open Knowledge on IAS (INVASIVESNET).

Her present work focuses on public perceptions of river landscapes and knowledge co-production processes in transdisciplinary settings. Her research is part of the RiverCare program (2014-2019) funded by TTW-NWO (2014-2019) that aims to improve the design and maintenance of river interventions by investigating their biophysical and social impacts.

She is working at HELSUS to develop new collaborations within the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry and the Environmental Policy Research Group.