Experts on Europe and the European Union

This list of researchers is not comprehensive, but simply an overview. You can find contact details for all the University of Helsinki staff in our People Finder, and our Research Portal includes even more detailed information about e.g. our researchers' publications and fields of specialisation.

The University’s communications specialists are also happy to help look for our experts.

You can find the experts of the University of Helsinki’s Centre for European Studies on their website.

Professor Juha Raitio, phone +35850 448 2737, juha.raitio@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords:  European Law

Associate Professor (UEF), Academy Research Fellow (UH) Emilia Korkea-aho, phone +35850 571 9980, emilia.korkea-aho@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: EU legislation, decision-making, lobbying, regulation of lobbying

Professor Päivi Leino-Sandberg, phone +35850 576 1575, paivi.leino@helsinki.fi (Finnish, Swedish, English)
Keywords:  EU treaties and bodies, EU decision-making, Economic and Monetary Union, European Administrative Law

University Lecturer of Church History Mikko Ketola, phone +35850 318 545, mikko.ketola@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: EU & tolerance, religions, extremist movements, the Catholic Church, the churches of Ukraine, anti-Semitism

University Lecturer of Theological and Social Ethics Virpi Mäkinen, phone +35850 318 5434, virpi.makinen@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords:  EU and European values, EU & tolerance (history of ideas, ethics, present)

Professor of Political Science Hanna Wass, phone +35850 336 3512, hanna.wass@helsinki.fi, (Finnish, English)
Keywords:  Voter turnout in the European Parliament election

Doctoral Student Laura Nordström, phone +35850 367 6671, laura.nordstrom@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English, French)
Keywords: The European Parliament, EU lobbying, theory of power and knowledge, interest groups, think tanks, European debt and banking crisis, relations between EU institutions, democracy, openness

Doctoral Student Antti Ronkainen, phone +35850448 8579, antti.ronkainen@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: European Parliament election, monetary union, integration, ECB and economic policy

Postdoctoral Researcher Rūta Kazlauskaitė, phone +35840 173 4410, ruta.kazlauskaite@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: Poland, elections of the European Parliament in Poland, right-wing populism in Poland, emotions in media mobilization.

Professor Niklas Jensen-Eriksen, phone +35850 583 6801, niklas.jensen-eriksen@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: European business history

Professor of European History Laura Kolbe, phone +35850 318 2799, laura.kolbe@helsinki.fi (Finnish, Swedish, English)
Keywords: European ideas and identities, cities, political movement, national ideas, social movements, cultural heritage, history politics

Associate Professor Kristiina Brunila, phone +35850 310 9827, kristiina.brunila@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: EU's education, equality and youth politics

Doctoral Student Ameera Masoud, phone +35850 311 5763, ameera.masoud@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: Integration training, education, employability, refugees and immigrants, equality

Experts of the Centre of Excellence of Law, Identity and European Narratives (EuroStorie):

Director of EuroStorie Kaius Tuori, phone +35850 448 2564, kaius.tuori@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Associate Professor of European Intellectual History
Keywords: history, history politics, identity, justice and its history, antiquity and its aftermath

Vice Director of EuroStorie Reetta Toivanen, phone +35850 318 5281, reetta.toivanen@helsinki.fi (Finnish, Swedish, English)
Professor of Sustainability Science at the Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science (HELSUS)
Keywords: sustainable development, the youth’s point of view, refugees, minorities, human rights from a non-lawyer point of view, immigration, mandatory Swedish studies in Finnish schools, regional minorities, the Sami

Vice Director of EuroStorie Pamela Slotte, pamela.slotte@helsinki.fi (Swedish, English, Finnish, German)
University researcher, Associate Professor at Åbo Akademi University
Keywords: freedom of religion and conscience, the history and theory of human rights

University Researcher Timo Miettinen, phone +35850 318 2159, timo.pa.miettinen@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: EU, Europe, European politics, the EU countries’ national politics, European ideas and narratives, European history, EU’s economic politics, European ideologies

University Researcher Jacob Giltaij, phone +35850 416 0505, jacob.giltaij@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: human rights issues in a historical perspective, refugee research, refugee researchers, the roots of identity politics

Postdoctoral Researcher Elisa Pascucci, phone +35850 556 0063, elisa.pascucci@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: immigration, migration, asylum, humanitarian aid

Postdoctoral Researcher Pedro Magalhães, phone +351 91211 11425, pedro.tereso@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: political philosophy, especially German modern political thinking, current political situation in Southern Europe and Germany

Postdoctoral Researcher Paolo Amorosa, phone +35850 448 8854, paolo.amoroso@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: international law and politics, human rights, international institutions from a current and a historical perspective, especially in an American and Italian context

Postdoctoral Researcher Ville Erkkilä, phone +35850 379 7178, ville.erkkila@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: the use of history in ideologies, EU opposition

Doctoral Student Laura Sumari, phone +35850 448 8913, laura.sumari@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: immigration, refugees and the safety and insecurity of people and their experiences, the feeling of being safe

Doctoral Student Mehrnoos Farzamfar, phone +35850 311 4852, mehrnoosh.farzamfar@helsinki.fi (English)
Keywords: migration/immigration and its relation to the receiving country’s safety, safety

Doctoral Student Tuukka Brunila, phone +35850 328 6710, tuukka.brunila@helsinki.fi (Finnish, English)
Keywords: populism, liberalism, political theory