Joint degree programmes
The University of Helsinki offers international joint degree programmes in cooperation with other leading European universities.

Please note that the joint degree programmes have separate application periods and admission procedures than the rest of the Master's Programmes offered by the University of Helsinki. Check out their programme websites for more information.

ASC – Erasmus Mundus Mas­ter Ad­vanced Spec­tro­scopy in Chemistry

The ASC network aims at preparing students to become experts and develop international skills towards professional industrial careers in spectroscopic characterization of matter and/or doctoral studies.

The two-year ASC programme has reached a high level of harmonization, with a single Master's programme scheme applicable at each partner institution and thus yielding to a better integration into the European scheme.

All successful students receive a multiple degree from the institutions where they attended courses.

Partner universities:

  • University of Helsinki, Finland
  • University Alma Mater of Bologna, Italy
  • Jagiellonian University of Krakow, Poland
  • Leipzig University, Germany
  • University of Lille, France (coordinating institution)
em­PLANT+ - Erasmus Mundus Mas­ter Program in Plant Breed­ing

The Erasmus Mundus Master Program in Plant Breeding – emPLANT+ – is a two years Master degree offered by a consortium of five leading European universities in the field of plant breeding, plant biology, seed technology and biotechnology in order to face the challenges of global changes such as population growth and climate change.

The objective of emPLANT+ is to remedy the lack of qualified highly skilled plant breeders on Master and PhD level with a training programme that combines science, management, law, intercultural competence and language skills.

Partner universities:

  • University of Helsinki, Finland
  • UniLaSalle Polytechnic Institute, France
  • Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
  • Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  • Ege University, Turkey
  • Szent István University, Hungary
IMESS - In­ter­na­tional Mas­ters in Eco­nomy, State & Society

IMESS is the leading two-year programme in comparative area studies that helps you to develop in-depth knowledge and understanding of Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, the Baltics, Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia.

The graduates have taken leadership positions in distinguished private and public sector organisations (including the IMF, EBRD, Risk Control, banks and financial institutions, diplomacy and media, civil service, self-employment) and many have continued with doctoral studies.

Partner universities:

  • University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary
  • Charles University, Czech Republic
  • University College London, UK (coordinating institution)
  • Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland
  • University of Tartu, Estonia
  • University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia
  • Higher School of Economics, Saint Petersburg, Russia