Doctoral schools and doctoral programmes
The University of Helsinki has four doctoral schools, which offer a total of 33 doctoral programmes. The schools and programmes cooperate in research and doctoral education, and the structure of doctoral education encompasses all of the University’s disciplines and doctoral students.

The Doctoral programme Brain & Mind (B&M), the Doctoral programme in Integrative Life Science (ILS), the Doctoral programme in Plant Sciences (DPPS), the Doctoral programme in Wildlife Biology Research (LUOVA) and the Doctoral programme in Interdisciplinary Environmental Sciences (DENVI) are coordinated by the Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences.

Detailed instructions how to apply for doctoral study right in the programmes are found in the website of the chosen programme.

Doctoral students at the Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences may belong to one of the following 11 doctoral programmes:

Doctoral School in Environmental, Food and Biological Sciences (YEB)
Doctoral School in Health Sciences (DSHealth)
Doctoral School in Natural Sciences (DONASCI)
Doctoral School in Humanities and Social Sciences (HYMY)