Practical arrangements

See you soon!
Venues

The conference sessions will be held at the University of Helsinki City Centre Campus in the Main building (Fabiansgatan 33 entrance).

The welcoming reception and pre-conference sessions will be held at the Hanken School of Economics (Arkadiagatan 22).

The walking distance between the two sites in 1.6 km (1 mile) and takes 9 minutes on tram #2. Other activities are located within walking distance from the main venue.

The main venue has Eduroam and free wifi for guests. Visitors particularly from outside Europe may be interested in pre-paid mobile wifi, which is cheap (typically 4.90€ for a SIM card with a rate of 0.99€/day) and can be purchased at kiosks.

 

Local transport

There’s a local train from the Helsinki Vantaa airport to the city centre (ABC ticket, currently 4.10€). Fixed price taxis to the city centre cost about 45€ (1€ ~ 1.08 US$ ~ 0.86 GBP ~ 1.75 NZD).

The journey planner is useful for finding public transport routes in Helsinki: https://www.hsl.fi/en. The conference activities take place within walking distance, and day tickets for public transport can also be useful for getting around (https://www.hsl.fi/en/tickets-and-fares/day-tickets, AB tickets (currently 2.95€) cover the city centre including its trams. Day tickets are also available and their prices can be found at https://www.hsl.fi/en/tickets-and-fares/day-tickets

Accommodation

Very close to the venue (this would be something of a ‘conference’ hotel with a 200-metre walk to the venue)
   • Sokos Hotel Helsinki **** : https://www.sokoshotels.fi/en/helsinki/solo-sokos-hotel-helsinki We have a quota on the hotel 17.-20.6.2024 and the registration code BMACRO2024 at www.sokoshotels.fi gives you the special rate of 180€/night for a double room (‘Solo’) and 160€/night for a single room (‘Solo’), including breakfast, sauna and wifi. Extended stays are subject to dynamic pricing.

Quite close to the venue
   • Radisson Blu Plaza **** : https://www.radissonhotels.com/fi-fi/hotellit/radisson-blu-helsinki We have a quota on the hotel 17.-20.6.2024 and the registration code BMACR at https://www.radissonhotels.com/en-us/ gives you the special rate of 190€/night for a double room (‘Standard’) and 170€/night for a single room (‘Standard’), including breakfast, sauna and wifi. Extended stays are subject to dynamic pricing.
   • Hotel Haven ***** : https://www.hotelhaven.fi/en/ 
   • Sokos Hotel Torni **** : https://www.sokoshotels.fi/fi/helsinki/solo-sokos-hotel-torni 
   • Scandic Grand Central **** : https://www.scandichotels.com/hotels/finland/helsinki/scandic-grand-central-hel… 
   • KlausK Hotel **** : https://www.klauskhotel.com/en/ 
   • Scandic Kaisaniemi *** : https://www.scandichotels.com/hotels/finland/helsinki/scandic-kaisaniemi 
   • Hotel Arthur *** : https://www.hotelarthur.fi/en/ 
   • Hotel Finn *** : https://hotellifinn.fi/en/home/

A bit further
   • Hotel Helka **** : https://www.hotelhelka.com/ 
   • Scandic Simonkenttä **** : https://www.scandichotels.com/hotels/finland/helsinki/scandic-simonkentta 
   • Omena Hotel Yrjönkatu ** : https://www.omenahotels.com/en/hotels/helsinki-yrjonkatu-en/ 
   • Senate Hotel ** : https://www.senatehotel.com/en/accomodations 
   • Hostel Diana Park ** : https://www.dianapark.fi/ 
   • EuroHostel * : https://eurohostel.eu/

Other options, particularly for long stays
   • Unihome, which is operated by the Helsinki and Aalto universities: https://unihome.fi/en/properties/toolo-towers. Travel to venue: 7 stops on tram number 2 (17 minutes including 350 meter walk). Please be first in touch with Saara Kallio (saara.kallio@helsinki.fi) to secure a university rate.
   • The availability of dormitory housing is uncertain and is located quite far from the city centre (Finnish student housing extends beyond semesters)
   • Airbnb : https://www.airbnb.co.uk/helsinki-finland/stays 

Guides for visitors

All you need to know to plan your conference trip to Helsinki and to make the most of your stay in the city.

Contacts

If you have any questions or need more information concerning the most exciting conference in 2024, please feel free to contact us by e-mail at pia.polsa@hanken.fi and/or petteri.repo@helsinki.fi.

What else to do in an out of Helsinki

Day cruise or overnight stay to Tallinn in Estonia, two day cruise to Stockholm in Sweden or a even a circular Baltic cruise (Helsinki - Tallinn - Stockholm - Helsinki): https://en.tallink.com/en/book-a-cruise; https://www.sales.vikingline.com; https://www.eckeroline.com. Spoiler alert: Some macromarketers are thinking about a non-organized day cruise to Tallinn on Saturday before the conference - we'll communicate about it to registered conference participants in May-June.

Day trip to the old town of Porvoo (50 km from Helsinki): https://www.tripadvisor.com/AttractionProductReview-g189934-d17446811-Porvoo_to…; an archipelago cruise is a nice option: https://msjlruneberg.fi/en/helsinki-porvoo-cruises

Local visit to the Seurasaari Open Air Museum (the small island is itself very nice): https://www.kansallismuseo.fi/en/seurasaarenulkomuseo

Half day Helsinki bus trip: https://www.hop-on-hop-off-tickets.com/helsinki-bus-tours/

As something of a non-organized, informal and self-funded (~7-12€ for ferry tickets) preconference activity on Sunday afternoon the 16th of June, Pia and Petteri plan to invite macromarketers for a walk at the Suomenlinna Sea Fortress, which is a World Heritage site: https://www.suomenlinna.fi/en/

There are also plans to organize a post-conference guided visit on Thursday afternoon the 20th to Oodi, which is a public library and much more: https://oodihelsinki.fi/en