Academician Markku Kulmala received the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award in China

Academician Markku Kulmala, Professor at the University of Helsinki, received the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award of the People's Republic of China. Award ceremony was held at the Great Hall of the People, Beijing, on Friday 10 January 2020.

Prof. Markku Kulmala is a pioneer and world-leading expert in the physics and chemistry of atmospheric aerosol and terrestrial ecosystem meteorology. His research objectives range from the advanced quantum chemistry models to processes relevant on the Earth climate. Kulmala has created a research program that includes continuous long-term atmospheric observations, global modelling and deep theoretical and experimental process-level studies, which enhance the understanding about atmospheric aerosol dynamics together with their environmental and health consequences.

Over the past ten years, Professor Kulmala has been working in cooperation with the Chinese scientists to enhance scientific and technological development in atmospheric environment and climate change studies in China. He visited China for the first time in October 2009 when the plan of the first SMEAR (Station for Measuring Earth surface - Atmosphere Relations) concept station called SORPES was initiated together with the University of Nanjing.

SMEAR concept determines and quantifies biosphere - trace gas - aerosol - cloud interactions and feedbacks on different Earth surfaces. This research has helped to find solutions for the present and near future negative impacts caused by the large-scale and high-speed urbanization and industrialization in China during the recent decades.

The goal of professor Kulmala’s efforts in China is to provide a platform and guidance for individual activities and innovations in order to form comprehensive large-scale solutions to solve present complicated air pollution problems. Presently, Kulmala is working in the cities of Nanjing, Shanghai and Beijing and negotiates to expand his activities to new cities and regions in China.

The International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award was initiated by the State Council of China in 1994. It is conferred on foreign individuals or organizations that have made important contribution to science and technology development of China. Since 1995 altogether 128 scientists from 24 from different countries have received the award, Professor Markku Kulmala being the first from Finland.

Markku Kulmala shaking hands with Chinese President Xi Jinping. Photograph taken from the TV screen of the Xinwen Lianbo news program.

Markku Kulmala

Academician, Academy professor Markku Kulmala leads the Institute for Atmospheric and Earth System Research (INAR). He was the director of The Centre of Excellence in Atmospheric Science – From Molecular and Biological processes to the Global Climate (ATM). He is active in international initiatives to improve comprehensive continuous measurement networks all around the world, and to solve air quality – climate change interactions. This activity includes Pan Eurasian Experiment (PEEX) and air quality projects in megacities, such as “HAZE Beijing”.

Kulmala’s research includes also SMEAR field stations that investigate aerosol, trace gas and greenhouse gas concentrations and fluxes, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, aerosol formation and growth, the dynamics of atmospheric clusters and ions as well as the biogenic background for processes leading to aerosol formation, carbon sink and CarbonSink+. Kulmala has published over 1000 original research papers and is one of the most cited scientist in geosciences.

Professor Kulmala is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences as well as the Russian Academy of Sciences and received the Chinese Government Friendship Award in 2018. Furthermore, Kulmala acts as a president of the European Center of International Eurasian Academy of Sciences and chairs the national committee of Future Earth. He is winner of our ten international awards and has nine honored doctoral degrees or professorships.