Group members
Tuula Salo

PI

DDS, PhD, Professor of Oral Pathology 

tuula.salo@helsinki.fi

Ahmed Al-Samadi

Postdoctoral researcher, DDS, PhD

ahmed.al-samadi@helsinki.fi

Abdelhakim Salem

DDS, PhD, Adjunct Professor

Supervisor for Doctoral Programme in Oral Sciences (FINDOS)

Supervisor for Doctoral Programme in Clinical Research (KLTO)

E-mail: Abdelhakim.Salem@helsinki.fi

Katja Tuomainen

PhD student, MSc

My work focuses on developing representative in vitro methods for the high-throughput drug screening and personalized cancer medicine by providing a fully human tumor-based matrix for cancer cells.

katja.tuomainen@helsinki.fi

Rabeia Mustafa

PhD student, DDS

rabeia.mustafa@helsinki.fi

Meri Sieviläinen

Phd Student, DDS 

 

I am investigating immune therapies involving immune checkpoints and their prognostic relevance in oral cancer. My aim in research is to help ongoing clinical trials to improve immune checkpoint related therapies.

meri.sievilainen@helsinki.fi

Pubmed 

Erika Naakka

PhD student, Laboratory coordinator, MSc

My research revolves around three-dimensional (3D) in vitro modeling. My work aims to develope novel methods and materials for drug development and for studying cancer growth and behaviour in vitro.

erika.naakka@helsinki.fi

Pubmed

Wafa Wahbi

PhD student, MSc

wafa.wahbi@helsinki.fi

Aini Hyytiäinen

PhD student, BDS

aini.hyytiainen@helsinki.fi

Ilida Suleymanova

Programmer/Data consulting

As part of my long-term goal, I wish to contribute and pursue my career in the field involving mathematical and computational approaches to analyze biological data.

ilida.suleymanova@helsinki.fi 

Pubmed

Sini Karinen

PhD student, MSc

Awais Wahab

PhD Student

I am a PhD candidate and my thesis project is Identification of simple and valuable prognostic markers for oral cancer.

awais.wahab@helsinki.fi

Tuulia Ingman

PhD Student, MSc

Roosa Hujanen

PhD student

Krista Laurila

Bachelor of Laboratory Services

Working as a Laboratory Technician

krista.laurila@helsinki.fi

Matti Mauramo

Postdoctoral researcher, DDS, PhD

matti.mauramo@helsinki.fi

Rayan Mroueh

PhD student, DDS

rayan.mroueh@helsinki.fi

Ilkka Heikkinen

PhD student, BDS

ilkka.heikkinen@helsinki.fi

Douwe Hoornstra

Alumni

Postdoctoral researcher, MSc, PhD

douwe.hoornstra@gmail.com

 

Yue Zhao

Alumni

Master student (TRANSMED), BSc

Jenni Vasara

Alumni

Senior laboratory technician, MSc

Shrabon Hasnat