Slush 2019

Meet us at section 6D.1. See our innovations and meet the researchers behind them. The University’s Slush section will feature a total of 12 innovations at different stages of the commercialisation process. At Slush, they will look for partners, entrepreneurs and investors. See also technologies available for licensing.

Making smartphones see the world in its fullest detail

AI-based technology enables consumer cameras to capture the full spectrum of visible light. This rich information can fuel completely new kinds of computer vision applications.

Read article: Computer vision identifies ripe fruit and counterfeit drugs

spexel.ai website

spexel.ai

Ville Kurri
+358 50 343 5751
ville.kurri@helsinki.fi

Arto Klami
+358 50 582 3654
arto.klami@helsinki.fi

Mikko Toivonen
+358 44 330 3131
mikko.e.toivonen@helsinki.fi

Chang Rajani
+358 50 311 5791
chang.rajani@helsinki.fi

Completed successful clinical trials with type 2 diabetics

A new key enabling technology that can help 400 million diabetics and 1,9 billion overweight people to live healthier. The same technology can be used for non-invasive monitoring of other biomarkers and analytes. Smart watch size industrial grade prototype created. Global patent portfolio.

Read article: GlucoModicum: Needle-free and painless health monitoring

GlucoModicum

 Jokke Mäki
+358 40 586 0946
jokke.maki@outlook.com

Alejandro Garcia-Perez
+358 40 532 4413
alejandro.garciaperez@helsinki.fi

Active packaging component for improving fresh vegetable shelf-life

Up to 20% of vegetable production, worth €200 billion, is wasted by supermarkets and consumers every year (EU and USA). The solution helps reduce this waste, its costs and environmental impact.

Read article: FreshPack: A new kind of packaging component could reduce vegetable wastage in storage rooms, grocery stores and even on your kitchen table or in the refrigerator

FreshPack

Emmi Korjus
+358 50 520 6886
emmi.korjus@helsinki.fi

Kirsi Mikkonen
+358 50 318 5744
kirsi.s.mikkonen@helsinki.fi

Next generation tools for personalised disease prevention and treatment

Interactive web applications that combine traditional health data with newly discovered genetic risk information for disease prevention and targeted therapy.

Read article: KardioKompassi: Individualised prevention of cardiac disease with genomic data

KardioKompassi website

KardioKompassi

Elisabeth Widén
+358 294 125 477
elisabeth.widen@helsinki.fi

Johanna Aro
+358 40 721 9741
johanna.aro@helsinki.fi

Impactful tool for making people work together skillfully

A digital solution for educational institutions and workplaces that combines individual and collective perspectives to support learning of working life competence and expertise.

Read article: Teamwork skills are needed at every age – The dLearn.Helsinki project generated the spinout TeamFluent

Team Fluent website

Team Fluent Oy

Auli Toom
+358 50 415 4852
auli.toom@helsinki.fi

Jukka Rautiainen
jukka@teamfluent.fi

The Solution for monitoring vitamin B3 balance in human body

A proprietary method that measures four vitamin-B3-based molecules from human blood. NADmed analysis provides guidelines for dietary interventions in ageing and disease.

Read article: NADmed reveals whether there is enough vitamin B3 in the body

NADmed project website

NADmed

Jana Buzkova
jana.buzkova@helsinki.fi

Liliya Euro
liliya.euro@helsinki.fi

Sara Kangaspeska
Helsinki Innovation Services
sara.kangaspeska@helsinki.fi

Tunable platform for exosome biomarker discovery

With its high-throughput isolation process targeting complex samples, the platform maximizes the chances of detecting biomarker signatures in biofluids containing exosomes and other extracellular vesicles. The platform supports discovery for improved diagnosis, monitoring and treatment.

Read article: FastEV paves way for precision biomedicine

FastEV

Pia Siljander
+358 50 448 6373
pia.siljander@helsinki.fi

Using nature’s microbial diversity for consumer goods

Urbanisation has caused people to lose connection to nature, leading to immune mediated illnesses such as diabetes, allergy and asthma. Uute is the substance with nature’s own microbial diversity to keep your immune system functioning.

Read article: Uute Scientific – biodiversity applied straight to your skin

Uute Scientific website

Uute Scientific

Aki Sinkkonen
+358 50 332 1110
aki.sinkkonen@helsinki.fi

Kari Sinivuori
+358 50 386 0444
kari.sinivuori@uutescientific.com