Doctoral Programme in School, Education, Society and Culture
P.O. Box 4
00014 University of Helsinki

Questions related to travel grants, dissertation completing grants and studying in SEDUCE -doctoral programme: hymy-doc(at)

Questions related to applying for doctoral study rights and dissertation process in Faculty of Educational Sciences:  edu-research(at)

Questions related to eligibility for doctoral studies, language requirements and application procedure: phd-admissions(at)

The Director of the Doctoral Programme
Professor Pirita Seitamaa-Hakkarainen

Vice Director of the Doctoral Programme
Professor Fred Dervin

Planning Officer


Members of steering committee 2018–2021
Professor Fred Dervin
Professor Lasse Lipponen
Professor Erika Löfström
University lecturer  Jan Löfström
Professor Juha Oikkonen
Professor Pirita Seitamaa-Hakkarainen, director
Professor Sirpa Tani
M.Ed. Laura Kortesoja
M.Soc.Sc Mikko Niemelä