The FoodLeader project is a collaboration between University of Helsinki in Finland, University of Nairobi in Kenya and Universidade Lúrio in Mozambique.
University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki is Finland’s largest and oldest academic institution. Since 1640, it has contributed to the establishment of a fair and equal society that is considered the best in the world according to a number of indicators. Today, this multidisciplinary academic community solves problems that concern all of us, also on the global scale. A community of 40,000 students and employees is diversely open, comprehensively quality conscious and joyfully serious. Internationalisation means many things for us. Together we create solutions that will shape the future of our planet and all of humanity. 

University of Nairobi

The University of Nairobi is a leading public institution of higher learning in Eastern and Central Africa with a high global ranking in research both regionally and globally. The University of Nairobi is the oldest and largest public university in Kenya established in 1970. Over the years, the University has established several strategic partnerships with the private sector, donor agencies and international development partners globally. The University of Nairobi, because of its history and position, find itself with the inherent role of providing leadership not only in higher education, but also in transformation of Africa’s agriculture. This is done through high quality, cutting-edge research, development and commercialization of market demanded products and services, and large-scale dissemination of new technologies specially to enhance productivity, incomes and livelihoods of urban dwellers. 

University of Nairobi uses transdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approaches to research and training. Wider dissemination of the project results will be achieved through the communication and dissemination strategy which forms part of this project. Existing collaborations with Kenyan partners are to be intensified and new partnerships established through collaborative research projects, with the aim of developing a high-quality and sustainable agricultural research landscape in the target regions.

Universidade Lúrio

The Universidade Lúrio, abbreviated as UniLúrio, is a public institution of higher education, with its headquarters located in the city of Nampula, in Mozambique. It was established by the Council of Ministers decree on December 26, 2006, and began the installation process in 2007. In addition to the Central Services of the Rectorate, the first faculty established at this stage was the Faculty of Health Sciences. Its primary area of operation is in the provinces of Nampula, Cabo Delgado, and Niassa, maintaining campus in the cities of Nampula, Mozambique Island, Pemba, and the village of Unango.

In its historical chronology, the university was the first to adopt a flumen — in this case, the Lúrio River — as the name for the university itself; Its logo draws inspiration from academia and the university's name, "Lúrio" is the name of a river that connects the three northern provinces of Mozambique where the university is located.

Currently, UniLúrio has established seven faculties throughout the northern region of Mozambique, with the Faculty of Health Sciences standing out as the foremost and largest among them. These faculties are situated across the following campuses:

  • Nampula - Faculty of Health Sciences | Faculty of Architecture and Physical Planning | UniLúrio Business School & Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities;
  • Cabo Delgado - Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences & Faculty of Engineering; 
  • Niassa - Faculty of Agricultural Sciences.

In its endeavors, UniLúrio is dedicated to "educating and training a new generation of competent professionals, committed to the development, science, and well-being of local communities." Its vision is to "provide Higher Education of Excellence, Quality, Competitiveness, and International Recognition".