Thirty new honorary doctorates to be conferred in the Conferment Jubilee

The Conferment Jubilee of the University of Helsinki commences on 20 March 2023 with the announcement of the University’s new honorary doctors. In the spring, the Faculty of Philosophy, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, the Faculty of Theology and the Faculty of Law will celebrate the conferral of degrees.

As per tradition, the title of doctor honoris causa, the University’s highest recognition, will be awarded, in connection with the conferment ceremonies, to several individuals. This year, a total of 30 distinguished individuals from around the world will be conferred as honorary doctors.


Faculty of Veterinary Medicine to confer five honorary doctorates on 19 May 2023

Wolfgang Baumgärtner, Professor, Head and Chair of the Department of Pathology at the University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover (TiHo)

Kati Hakkarainen, Professor (h.c.), Doctor of Medicine and Surgery with specialty in clinical microbiology and virology, former Head of Education, Faculty of Medicine and Health Technology, Tampere University

Edward J. Hall, Professor Emeritus of Small Animal Internal Medicine, University of Bristol

Dominiek Maes, Professor of Porcine Health Management, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Ghent University

Nigel P Minton, Professor of Applied Molecular Microbiology, Director of the BBSRC/EPSRC Synthetic Biology Research Centre (SBRC), University of Nottingham.

Faculty of Philosophy to confer 11 honorary doctorates on 26 May 2023

Lorenza Mondada, Professor of French and General Linguistics, University of Basel

Jyrki Lappi-Seppälä, MA, linguist and literary tarnslator

Fabiola Gianotti, PhD, Director General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Madis Noppel, Senior Research Fellow, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Tartu

Alan Lyles, Professor, School of Health and Human Services and School of Public and International Affairs, College of Public Affairs, University of Baltimore

Detlef Weigel, Professor, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Biology Tübingen

Krista Varantola, Chancellor Emerita, former Rector and Chancellor of the University of Tampere

Minna Lindgren, MA, journalist and author

Kimmo Pietiläinen, BA, translator, author and founder of the Terra Cognita publishing house

Ole Johansson, DSc (Tech) (h.c.), Chair of the Board of the Walter and Andrée de Nottbeck Foundation

Sauli Niinistö, LLM, President of the Republic of Finland

Faculty of Theology to confer eight honorary doctorates on 9 June 2023

Riho Altnurme, Professor of Church History, Vice-Dean for Research, Faculty of Arts and Humanities, University of Tartu

Maria Immonen, MA, Director of the Department of World Service, Lutheran World Federation (LWF)

Mia Lövheim, Professor of the Sociology of Religion, Uppsala University

Greta Thunberg, activist

Munib Younan, Bishop Emeritus, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land, Former President of The Lutheran World Federation

Annabel Brett, Professor, Co-director of Cambridge Centre for Political Thought, University of Cambridge

Grace Davie, Professor Emeritus of Sociology, University of Exeter

Philip Esler, Professor, Portland Chair in New Testament Studies, University of Gloucestershire

Faculty of Law to confer six honorary doctorates on 16 June 2023

Mads Bryde Andersen, Professor of Private Law, University of Copenhagen

Joxerramon Bengoetxea, Professor of Jurisprudence, University of the Basque Country (Donostia-SanSebastian), Director of the International Master of Sociology of Law (Oñati, IISL)

Jo Shaw, Professor, Head of Edinburgh Law School, University of Edinburgh

Reijo Aarnio, Master of Laws, Senior Advisor, Finnish Innovation Fund SITRA

Riitta Leppiniemi, Chief Judge, Attorney-at-Law

Lauri Tarasti, Minister


Further information:


Antti Sukura, Conferrer of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine,, +358 2941 57150

Kaisa Tiainen, Conferment Secretary,, +358 2941 57041


Jouni Hirvonen, Conferrer of the Faculty of Philosophy,, +358 2941 59139

Patrik Nurminen, Conferment Secretary,


Marjaana Helminen, Conferrer of the Faculty of Law,, +358 2941 23398

Riikka Pasanen, Conferment Secretary,, +358 2941 23216


Martti Nissinen, Conferrer of the Faculty of Theology,, +358 2941 24012

Kaisu Taskila, Conferment secretary,, +358 2941 58909


Conferment Jubilee website

Conferment ceremonies at the University of Helsinki on the website