Management and decision-making
The Faculty is led by a dean. The vice-deans support the dean in the development of the Faculty, the implementation of the Strategic Plan of the University of Helsinki and the promotion of cooperation in the field of activity determined by the dean.

During the administrative period 2018–2021, the Faculty has three vice-deans, whose primary responsibility areas encompass research, teaching and community relations.

The Faculty Council is a multi-member administrative body at the Faculty level. Under the direction of the dean, the Faculty Council enhances the Faculty’s overall operations in accordance with the University’s operational and financial objectives, the Strategic Plan of the University of Helsinki as well as the Faculty’s implementation plan.

Dean Jaakko Kangasjärvi

Jaakko Kangasjärvi

Executive assistant: Soile Saloranta


Minna Nyström, vice-dean for research affairs

Minna Nyström is a professor of epigenetics and genetics. She conducts research on colon cancer (specifically hereditary colon cancer) and cancer development mechanisms, risk factors and prevention. Nyström began her research in the 1990s. In 2013, her active efforts in the national and international bowel cancer research community culminated in the development of an inventive diagnostic method and the creation of her own start-up company.

Vice-Dean Nyström is in charge of research affairs and the development of doctoral education.

Minna Nyström

Helena Åström, vice-dean for academic affairs

Vice-dean Helena Åström is in charge of educational affairs and bilingual affairs.


Atte Korhola, vice-dean for societal interaction

Vice-dean Atte Korhola is in charge of societal interactions.

Faculty Council

The Faculty Council of the Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences has 19 members during the 2018–2021 period. The Faculty Council is chaired by the dean. In addition to the dean, the Faculty Council includes 8 professors, 5 members selected from among other teachers and researchers and other staff and 5 student representatives.

Meetings, agendas and minutes

The agendas and minutes of the Faculty Council are posted in Finnish on the University's intranet Flamma for students and staff of the University. A list of Faculty Council members can be found on the same page. To use Flamma, you must log in with your University username and password. If you cannot access Flamma, please contact

Faculty Council meetings

Autumn 2021

All meetings start at 12.15.

  • Tuesday 31.08.2021, place announced later
    Materials must be submitted no later than 18 August 2021 at 15.45
  • Tuesday 28.09.2021, place announced later
    Materials must be submitted no later than 15 September 2021 at 15.45
  • Tuesday 26.10.2021, place announced later
    Materials must be submitted no later than 13 October 2021 at 15.45
  • Tuesday 07.12.2021, place announced later
    Materials must be submitted no later than 24 November 2021 at 15.45

Spring 2022

All meetings start at 12.15..