Workshops
Social work research days 2023

The call for abstracts is open from 30.11.2022 to 13.1.2023. The call for abstracts is for presentations in workshops. The topic of the abstract must be related to the topic of the workshop. Abstract submissions are welcome from researchers, teachers, professionals, students, organizations and practitioners. The abstract should include the title of the presentation, the name(s) and e-mail address(es) of the presenter(s). The maximum length of the abstract is 250 words, unless otherwise specified in the description of the workshop. The abstract may be written in the language indicated as the working language of the workshop. Note! Proposals for abstracts will be sent directly to the e-mail addresses of the workshop leaders.

Languages of working group: Finnish, English

Organizers:

Elisa Rainerma (elisa.h.rainerma@jyu.fi)

Linda Majander (linda.m.majander@student.jyu.fi)

Anna-Leena Riitaoja

Ossi Laaksamo

The aim of this workshop is to provide a forum for presentations and discussions among various perspectives on ecosocial work and their meaning in diverse and changing contexts. What is the connection between social work and global social and environmental issues? What is expected from social work in dealing with wicked problems such as climate change, ecological problems, new pandemics, or incipient authoritarianism, and how can social work and social workers contribute to ecological, economic, social, and epistemic transformation/transition towards a more ecologically, economically, and socially sustainable society and the planet? It is important to discuss how can transdisciplinary perspectives and collaboration, including both academic disciplines and actors beyond academia, be fruitful for ecosocial work and for the sustainability aims. What benefit can be gained by bringing together various sectors, professional groups, and actors, such as employment services, rehabilitation, education, city planning, social enterprises, or NGOs? One adequate point is also the concept of just in the green transition, which has got a strong political and economic surge in the EU and the US. How different groups of people such as minorities, indigenous people or social welfare recipients and their rights and basic needs are met? The discussion of the position of social work to promote and safeguard justice and equality for all is needed. The underlying theme of diversity in social work will tie together different topics.

We welcome conceptual, empirical, and practical papers that deal with ecosocial work, sustainability transition/transformation, and related issues. The scope can be on practical approaches as well as on structural social work in a Finnish or Nordic or beyond. The language of the presentations can be Finnish or English. Accordingly, the workshop may be timed to include both a Finnish and an English language session.

Languages of working group: English, Finnish

Organizers:

Honglin Chen (honglin.chen@uef.fi) 

Heli Valokivi (heli.valokivi@jyu.fi)

Coupled with the changing demographic in current society, there have been enormous changes in technological capability. Technology, already an integral component of everyday life, holds great promise for supporting the health and independence of the aging population. Gerotechnology is the application of technology to improve the lives of older adults.

Gerotechnology creates ever-expanding entrepreneurial opportunities to develop new products and services. Clearly, opportunities exist for products and services to help elders improve their quality of life. This also brings a challenge for social workers to utilize digital devices to facilitate service for older adults.

 "How to integrate global population aging and technology development to help address the growing demands for care facing many aging societies is both a challenge and an opportunity for innovation (Kleiman,2021)". But what's the core element to benefit older adults with all the fast developing technology? The working group would also like to discuss with you about the critical factor of gerontechology from a social work and humanity aspect. On the basis of the coming conference working group, it is also expected to generate interdisciplinary dialogues on the topic for organizing a special issue for the Asia parcific journal of social work and development.

Languages of working group: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Tuuli Kurki (tuuli.kurki@helsinki.fi)

Ona Needelman (ona.needelman@helsinki.fi)

Nia Sullivan (nia.sullivan@abo.fi)

Racism and other forms of discrimination can have significant consequences on (mental) health of children and young people of colour as well as their families and communities at large. Racism also impacts on who gets to be heard and whose voices are legitimized in social work research and practice, and with what conditions. Whiteness as a power structure, in turn, produces, upholds, and reproduces racism, privileges and inequalities also within social work. This can be seen, for instance, in the lack of recognition on how racism and whiteness ‘work’ in encounters between white social workers and children, young people and families of colour as users of social services.

For this workshop, we welcome theoretical and empirical presentations that relate to the questions of (dismantling) racism and whiteness in social work with children and young people of colour. The contexts discussed in the presentations can be, but are not limited to, child welfare services, school social work, and mental health services, including substance abuse services. In relation to the overall theme of this year’s conference, presentations that challenge the concepts like diversity, cultural sensitivity and multiculturalism in social work research and practice are of particular interest. The idea of the workshop is to provide a space to discuss racism and whiteness in social work in a critical but supportive atmosphere and think collectively what antiracist social work with children and young people can and could be both in research and practice. (d)The language(s) of the workshop This workshop is multilingual, and presentations can be held in Finnish, Swedish or English.

Languages of working group: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Camilla Granholm (camilla.granholm@utu.fi)

Eveliina Heino (eveliina.heino@helsinki.fi, eveliina.heino@abo.fi)

Maria Jauhiainen (maria.jauhiainen@abo.fi)

Hanna Kara (hanna.kara@abo.fi, hanna.kara@helsinki.fi)

Meri Kulmala (meri.kulmala@helsinki.fi)

Anni-Mari Lassila (anni-mari.lassila@helsinki.fi)

Camilla Nordberg (camilla.nordberg@abo.fi)

Antero Olakivi (antero.olakivi@helsinki.fi, antero.olakivi@abo.fi)

Being a non-native language speaker creates and reinforces vulnerability in a social service system already defined by different power hierarchies. Despite the fact that social work is essentially permeated by language, language divisions and multilingualism have not received much attention in social work research or practice. Rather than making the system linguistically more accessible, change has typically been expected from the service user. Meanwhile, it remains unexplored how linguistic inequality is linked to other social divides, such as ethnicity, class, gender, age, disability, and their intersections. The increasing digitalisation of public services has further accentuated such asymmetries. 

We kindly invite to the workshop both theoretical and empirical contributions that engage with issues related to linguistic justice and linguistic vulnerabilities in social work and in welfare services more broadly, including perspectives from service users, experts by experience, professionals, third sector organisations and/or the larger welfare service system. While the working group has a particular interest in the ways in which linguistic vulnerability intersects with other structural inequalities, we welcome contributions from a wide range of angles. 

Languages of working group: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Maija Jäppinen (maija.jappinen@helsinki.fi)
Hanna Kara (hanna.kara@helsinki.fi)
Camilla Nordberg (camilla.nordberg@abo.fi)
Anna-Leena Riitaoja (anna-leena.riitaoja@helsinki.fi)

This working group deals with diversity in connection with migration and mobility. Migration is understood broadly: as immigration and emigration, and the reasons for migration and mobility may vary. We will discuss everyday encounters in social work, social work training and expertise, and the structures of the welfare state from the perspective of diversity. We welcome presentations that are theoretical/conceptual, methodological, empirical, or draw directly from social work practice or education. Presentations can deal with, for example, multilingualism, integration, family reunification, transnationality, questions of belonging and deservingness, power, participatory research methods, the researcher's position and ethical reflection. Presentations can be in Finnish, Swedish or English. The language of the conversation is decided together at the workshop.

Languages of working group:  Finnish, English

Organizers:

Samuel Salovaara (Samuel.Salovaara@ulapland.fi)

Inka Söderström (inka.soderstrom@helsinki.fi)

Diversity of sexuality, gender and relationships is a subject that affects all people. However, societal norms restricting sexuality, gender and relationships marginalize people, families and communities who do not conform to these norms, with many different social consequences. These marginalized forms of sexuality, gender and relationships are often referred to as sexual, gender or relationship minorities, LGBTIQ+ minorities or queerness.

Solely the reality that approximately at least one in ten social work clients and social workers belong to a sexual and/or gender minority (including relationship minorities, the number is even higher), makes queerness an important issue in social work. Many LGBTIQ+ people in Finland face structural and direct discrimination, which impairs their mental and physical health and opportunities for participation. There has been some research on sexual, gender and relationship minorities in social work internationally, but in Finnish social work the research, teaching, and professional discussion on the topic has been very scarce. This undermines the readiness of Finnish social workers to work with queer people and to fulfil the human rights function of social work to support and empower vulnerable people. Without multifaceted research, it is impossible to identify and become aware of the social and professional processes that produce and maintain inequalities.

This workshop aims to increase the diversity of social work debates around queer and LGBTIQ+ issues, and to create a space for networking between researchers and other actors. We invite all interested researchers, students, professionals, NGOs and experts by experience to discuss together the possibilities of Finnish social work to work alongside queer clients to fulfill human rights and reduce discrimination. You can come to the workshop to present research results, ongoing research, thesis, or research ideas and research needs on LGBTIQ+ issues in social work. In order to strengthen the dialogue between the different actors, also presentations by experts by experience, professionals and representatives of NGOs are warmly welcome. You can also contribute to the workshop with a creative presentation, such as a performance. The workshop presentation can be in Finnish or English, and the discussion will take place in the language of the presentation.

To apply for the workshop, please send an abstract of up to 250 words to the workshop organizers by email, describing your presentation topic and how it relates to the issue of queerness in social work. In the abstract, please also indicate the format and language of your presentation.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Maria Valtokari (maria.valtokari@thl.fi)

Elina Lindström (elina.lindstrom@kuntaliitto.fi)

Natalia Skogberg (natalia.skogberg@thl.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, English

Organizers:

Elina Aaltio (elina.m.aaltio@jyu.fi)

Nanne Isokuortti (nanne.isokuortti@helsinki.fi)

Hanna Ristolainen (hanna.ristolainen@uef.fi)

Eeva Ekqvist (eeva.ekqvist@tuni.fi)

Katja Kuusisto (katja.kuusisto@tuni.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Tuomo Kokkonen, yliopistotutkija tuomo.kokkonen@jyu.fi

Sirpa Kannasoja, yliopistotutkija sirpa.kannasoja@jyu.fi

Marja Hekkala, tutkija marja.hekkala@tuni.fi

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, English

 

Organizers:

 

Maija Mänttäri-van der Kuip (maija.manttari@jyu.fi)

Mia Tammelin (mia.tammelin@tuni.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, Swedish, English

Organizers:

Viitasalo Katri (katri.viitasalo@helsinki.fi)

Juvonen Tarja (tarja.juvonen@laurea.fi)

Pitkäjärvi Pauliina (pauliina.pitkajarvi@helsinki.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, English

Organizers:

Suvi Holmberg (suvi.holmberg@tuni.fi)

Henni Alava (henni.alava@tuni.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Languages of workshop: Finnish, English

Organizers:

Johanna Hietamäki (johanna.hietamaki@thl.fi)

Marita Husso (marita.husso@tuni.fi)

Anniina Kaittila (anniina.kaittila@utu.fi)

Sisko Piippo (sisko.h.piippo@jyu.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Kirsi Hokkila

Tanja Koskinen (tanja.koskinen@helsinki.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Jari Lindh (jari.lindh@ulapland.fi)

Mari Kivistö

Marjatta Martin  

Merja Tarvainen

Pilvikki Heinonen

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Suvi Raitakari (suvi.raitakari@tuni.fi)

Sirpa Saario (sirpa.saario@tuni.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Timo Harrikari (timo.harrikari@thl.fi

Essi Julin (essi.julin@thl.fi)

Linda Määttä (linda.maatta@thl.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Workshop is full

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Kaarina Mönkkönen (kaarina.monkkonen@uef.fi)

Laura Yliruka (laura.yliruka@thl.fi)

Päivi Petrelius (paivi.petrelius@curiosa.fi)

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.

Abstract are not accepted in this workshop, but everyone interested in the theme are welcome to listen and discuss.

Live streamhttps://youtu.be/JMQucDZXPjo

Language of workshop: Finnish

Organizers:

Johanna Moilanen, johanna.s.moilanen@jyu.fi

Mirja Satka, mirja.satka@helsinki.fi

Workshop description only in Finnish. To read the description, please open the Finnish language version of the page.