Advances in Modal Logic is an initiative aimed at presenting the state of the art in modal logic and its various applications. The initiative consists of a conference series together with volumes based on the conferences.

Information about the AiML series can be obtained at the AiML website. Please consult the background pages for further details. AiML 2020 is the 13th conference in the series.


We invite submissions on all aspects of modal logic, including:

  • history of modal logic,
  • philosophy of modal logic,
  • applications of modal logic,
  • automated reasoning for modal logics,
  • computational aspects of modal logic (complexity and decidability of modal and temporal logics, model checking, model generation)
  • theoretical aspects of modal logic (topological/algebraic/categorical perspectives on modal logic, co-algebraic modal logic, completeness and canonicity, correspondence and duality theory, many-dimensional modal logics, modal fixed-point logics, model theory of modal logic, proof theory of modal logic)
  • specific instances and variations of modal logic (description logics, modal logics over non-boolean bases, dynamic logics and other process logics, epistemic and deontic logics, modal logics for agent-based systems, modal logic and game theory, modal logic and grammar formalisms, provability and interpretability logics, conditional logics, spatial and temporal logics, hybrid logic, intuitionistic (modal) logics, intermediate logics, bunched implication and separation logics)

Papers on related subjects will also be considered.



  • Nicola Olivetti, LIS, Aix-Marseille University
  • Rineke Verbrugge, University of Groningen


  • Natasha Alechina, University of Nottingham
  • Maria Aloni, University of Amsterdam
  • Philippe Balbiani, CNRS, IRIT Toulouse
  • Guram Bezhanishvili, New Mexico State University
  • Marta Bílková, Charles University Prague
  • Patrick Blackburn, University of Roskilde
  • Agata Ciabattoni, TU Wien
  • Giovanna Corsi, University of Bologna
  • Giovanna D'Agostino, University of Udine
  • Stéphane Demri, CNRS, LSV, ENS Paris-Saclay
  • Hans van Ditmarsch, CNRS, LORIA, University of Lorraine
  • David Fernández-Duque, Ghent University
  • David Gabelaia, TSE Razmadze Mathematical Institute
  • Didier Galmiche, CNRS, LORIA, University of Lorraine
  • Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan
  • Valentin Goranko, Stockholm University
  • Rajeev Goré, The Australian National University
  • Davide Grossi, University of Groningen
  • Helle Hvid Hansen, Delft University of Technology
  • Wesley Holliday, UC Berkeley
  • Agi Kurucz, King's College London
  • Roman Kuznets, TU Wien
  • Carsten Lutz, University of Bremen
  • George Metcalfe, University of Bern
  • Larry Moss, Indiana University
  • Claudia Nalon, University of Brasilia
  • Sara Negri, University of Helsinki
  • Eric Pacuit, University of Maryland
  • Xavier Parent, University of Luxembourg
  • Valeria de Paiva, Samsung Research America, Birmingham University
  • Sophie Pinchinat, IRISA, University of Rennes I
  • Mark Reynolds, The University of Western Australia
  • Renate Schmidt, University of Manchester
  • Ilya Shapirovsky, Institute for the Information Transmission Problems
  • Valentin Shehtman, Institute for the Information Transmission Problems
  • Thomas Studer, University of Bern
  • Sara Uckelman, Durham University
  • Yde Venema, University of Amsterdam
  • Yanjing Wang, Peking University
  • Michael Zakharyashev, Birbeck University of London


  • Sara Negri, University of Helsinki
  • Gabriel Sandu, University of Helsinki


  • Fausto Barbero, University of Helsinki
  • Annika Kanckos, University of Helsinki
  • Eugenio Orlandelli, University of Bologna
  • Edi Pavlović, University of Helsinki
  • Tatu Pössi, University of Helsinki