The organisational structure of the University of Helsinki includes the University Collegium, the Board, the Rector, the Chancellor and University Services, the faculties, joint operational units and independent institutes. The Swedish School of Social Science is a special unit of the University of Helsinki.

For the purposes of research and teaching, the University is organised into 11 faculties. The faculties are led by the dean who is responsible for general faculty operations, personnel administration and the financial affairs of the faculty. Faculties have faculty councils that operate under the direction of the dean with the aim of enhancing the faculties’ operations as a whole.

The University accommodates 8 independent institutes that focus on research, teaching or the provision of services. Independent institutes are led by a director and a board.

The University hosts various multidisciplinary research networks as well as units that have been assigned with the duties of a national authority. The University of Helsinki participates in the operations of university consortia in Lahti, Mikkeli and Seinäjoki together with other Finnish universities.