About us

The Viikki plant science centre integrates basic and applied plant science.
Key figures
Board, advisers and stakeholders

The ViPS board members represent the key research areas of the Viikki Plant Science Centre.

Timo Hytönen (director)

Paula Elomaa
Teemu Hölttä
Saijaliisa Kangasjärvi
Roosa Laitinen
Ari Pekka Mähönen
Alan Schulman
Maija Sierla
Teemu Teeri 

Sara Forlani (post-doc representative)

Karen Sims-Huopaniemi (coordinator)

The local stakeholders and advisors represent the important players in the national life science sector.

Maria Hällfors, Senior Researcher
Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE)

Sari Juutinen, Senior Research Scientist
Finnish Meteorological Institute

Mikko Peltoniemi, Research Professor
Natural Resources Institute Finland (LuKe)

Outi Manninen, Head of Biotechnology
Boreal Plant Breeding Ltd.

Heiko Rischer, Head of Research Area
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Mikko Peltonen, Research Director
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

Johanna Santala, Laboratory Chief
Finnish Food Authority

Find out more!