People
Indigenous Studies staff and associated researchers.
Pirjo Kristiina Virtanen

 

 

Associate professor, coordinator of the program

Amazonia, research ethics, Indigenous research methodologies, relational ontologies, Indigenous epistemologies, Indigenous sustainability, traditional knowledge, TEK

Pirjo Virtanen's research portal profile

pirjo.virtanen@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294140020

Hanna Guttorm

 

 

Senior Researcher, Kone Foundation fellow 2020–2024, postdoctoral fellow within Sustainability Science (HELSUS) (2018-2020).

Indigenous research methodologies, Indigenous cosmologies, Sámi ontologies, Indigenous sustainability, traditional ecological knowledge, post qualitative research methods, research writing

Hanna Guttorm's research portal profile

hanna.guttorm@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294140043

Francisco Moura Cândido Apurinã

 

 

Postdoctoral researcher, Indigenous Studies

Human-environment interactions, Indigenous sacred places and their protection

Francisco Apurinã's research portal profile

fr.apurina@gmail.com

Irja Seurujärvi-Kari

 

 

Associated Senior researcher

Indigenous Studies, Sámi languages, language revitalization, Indigenous movement, language policy, indigeneity, Sámi movement, indigenous women's leadership

Irja Seurujärvi-Kari's research portal profile

irja.seurujarvi@gmail.com

Phone: +358400876222

 

Outi Laiti

 

 

Associated researcher

Sámi games, Indigenous games, Game jamming, Indigenous Game Design, Indigenous worldview, Indigenous research methodologies, Intangible heritage, Ethnoprogramming, Indigenous programming, Indigenous ICT, Human-Computer Interaction

Outi Laiti's research portal profile

outi.laiti@helsinki.fi

Jelena Porsanger

 

 

Associated Senior researcher

Indigenous research methodologies, Sámi epistemology

jelena.porsanger@gmail.com

Phone: +4792262212

Reetta Toivanen

 

 

Associated Researcher, HELSUS Professor in Sustainability Science (Indigenous Sustainabilities)

Critical narratives on Europe, the Arctic, human rights, Indigenous sustainabilities, youth, equality, human rights education

Reetta Toivanen's research portal profile

reetta.toivanen@helsinki.fi

Phone:  +358294123737

Victoria Peemot

Victoria Peemot

Associated researcher 

Indigenous methodologies, human-nonhuman relationships, memory politics, environmental humanities

 

Victoria Peemot’s research portal profile

victoria.peemot@helsinki.fi

+358401202164

 

Maria Fedina

 

 

Doctoral student, Indigenous Studies

Finno-Ugric peoples of Russia, Indigenous peoples of the North, the Arctic, self-determination

Maria Fedina’s research portal profile

maria.fedina@helsinki.fi

Dorothee Cambou

 

 

Assistant professor in Sustainability science

Indigenous peoples' rights, land and resource governance, self-determinaton issues, energy justice

Dorothee Cambou's research portal profile

dorothee.cambou@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294123271

Stef Spronck

 

Associated University Researcher

Indigenous languages of Australia, linguistic field methods

Stef Spronck's research portal profile

stef.spronck@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294123320

Álvaro Fernández-Llamazares

 

 

Associated Postdoctoral Researcher

Indigenous and Local Knowledge, ethnoecology, biocultural diversity 

Álvaro Fernández-Llamazares's research portal profile

alvaro.fernandez-llamazares@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294159076

Rani-Henrik Andersson

 

 

Associated University Lecturer

Indigenous peoples of North America, nature parks

Rani-Henrik Andersson's research portal profile

rani-henrik.andersson@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294121725

Heidi Konttinen

 

 

Doctoral student, Indigenous Studies, Finnish Cultural Foundation grantee 

Arctic; Indigenous sustainabilities; local sustainabilities; human-nonhuman relationships; ontological approach to crafts, art and design 

Heidi Konttinen’s Research Portal profile 

heidi.konttinen@helsinki.fi

Laura Siragusa

 

University Researcher within Indigenous Studies and the Environmental Humanities Programme at UH (HUH) (2017-2019/2021-2022). P.I. and Senior Researcher of the KONE Säätiö project, A tangible heritage: Vepsian language and non-human agencies to co-construct a northern environment (2019-2021)

Linguistic, Environmental, and Medical Anthropology, Indigenous Methodologies, Human-Environment relations, Heritage Language Revival Movements, Language Responsibility and Materiality

Laura Siragusa's research portal profile

laura.siragusa@helsinki.fi

Phone: +358294123315