Timo Repo received his PhD in 1997 from University of Helsinki under the guidance of Prof. Markku Leskelä. During 1998 - 2003 he worked at University of Helsinki, first as a postdoctoral researcher and then as an Academy researcher, the latter granted by Academy of Finland. In 2003, he was appointed as Academy research fellow by Academy of Finland. In July 2007 he was nominated as a professor of green chemistry at University of Helsinki. During his PhD studies and later career he has been actively collaborating with Prof. Bernhard Rieger in Technical University of Munich.

His research is focused on the development of inorganic/organometallic chemistry, green chemistry, homogeneous catalysis, especially catalyst development for major chemical transformations including oxidation, reduction, C-H activation, and C-C coupling applied for small molecule activation and biomass valorization.

For more information, see Timo's TUHAT research portal page.

My main focus in teaching and research is chemical crystallography, structural chemistry, and X-ray structure analysis, showing the influence of the structure in the solid state, but also in solution, on the chemical and physical properties. This covers a wide area of inorganic chemistry, organometallic chemistry, organic chemistry and supramolecular chemistry.

Since 1994 I’m a Docent for Crystallography at the University of Joensuu and in 2011 I was appointed as a Docent in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Helsinki.

For more information, see Martin's TUHAT research portal page.

My research focuses on the liquid organic hydrogen carriers that could be used for transportation and storing of renewable energy.

My aim is to develop methods for environmental hydrogen production, preferably from water. Research is focusing on complex synthesis and their evaluation for water splitting properties (production of hydrogen and/or oxygen).

I am also known as great t-shirt designer and tea ceremonial leader at our research group.

For more information, see Aleksi's TUHAT research portal page.

My research work consists of two parts. One is aimed at searching for the reaction mechanism when catalyzing six carbon sugars, then exploring how the coal is formed via chemical reaction. The other is searching for the missing tool for biorefinery, chemicals and materials from renewable feedstock, namely lignin.

Read more about Biomass valorization.

My research is about synthesizing metal organic complexes, which are active for the selective oxidation of alcohols. These metal organic complexes are made from copper and a variety of Schiff base ligands. The aim is to combine new copper(I)-Schiff-base-complexes with reactants (TEMPO, organic base) to oxidize alcohols in a more selective and efficient way.

For more information, see Emi's TUHAT research portal page.

My studies focus on development of novel Frustrated Lewis Pairs concepts. The aim is to activate H-H bonds for development of novel metal based and particularly metal-free hydrogenation catalysis and hydrogen storage concepts.

I research the organocatalytic activation of CO2, and its subsequent capture by various amines into carbamates. These are then reacted with suitable trapping reagents, for example γ-brominated Michael acceptors, resulting in stable 2-oxazolidinones. I am interested in the use of strong neutral organic bases as catalysts, guanidines in particular.

For more information, see Jere's TUHAT research portal page.

Generally, my research area is metal-free activation of small molecules such as H2, H2O, and CO2 with frustrated Lewis pairs (FLPs). One possible application of such reactivity of FLPs is amplification of NMR signal by means of parahydrogen-induced polarization (PHIP). The latter can be observed through interaction of ansa-FLP with H2 that is enriched with p-H2 (parahydrogen), one of its spin isomers. PHIP results in increased by orders of magnitude NMR signal intensities of p-H2-originating 1H nuclei as well as other magnetically coupled nuclei, such as 13C, 15N, 31P, etc. Therefore, it has a potential as a tool for magnetic resonance (in vivo) imaging. I am currently focused on the design and synthesis of ansa-FLPs for this particular application.

For more information, see Kristina's TUHAT research portal page.

My research is focused on the valorization of biomass towards valuable bulk chemicals. The aim is to develop integrated process for the efficient utilization of the whole lignocellulosic biomass (cellulose, hemicellulose and lignin).

For more information, see Rui's TUHAT research portal page.

The following people are currently working on their Bachelor's or Master's thesis at the Catalysis and green chemistry research group:

  • Henri Liljeqvist
  • Johannes Heikkinen
  • Jussi Tahvanainen

Since 2003, the following people have completed their PhD, PhLic, or MSc degree at the Catalysis and green chemistry research group (only the highest degree is shown):


Marina Surakka (PhLic)


Mika Kettunen (PhD)

Mikko Kalmi (PhLic)

Arto Puranen (PhLic)

Ulla Markkanen (MSc)


Kirill Axenov (PhD)

Pascal Castro (PhD)

Kaisa Kervinen (PhD)

Heikki Korpi (PhD)

Petro Lahtinen (PhD)

Kristian Lappalainen (PhD)

Mikko Lankinen (PhLic)


Erkki Aitola (PhD)

Antti Pärssinen (PhD)

Katariina Yliheikkilä (PhD)


Minna Räisänen (PhD)

Marjo Väänänen (PhLic)


Santeri Feodorow (PhLic)

Heini Markkanen (MSc)


Pertti Elo (PhD)


Victor Sumerin (PhD)

Jaakko Tuunanen (MSc)


Jahir Ahmad (PhD)

Jingjing Chen (MSc)

Nevil Guan (MSc)

Erika Rantala (MSc)

Emilia Streng (MSc)


Kostiantyn Chernichenko (PhD)

Maija Hakola (PhD)

Manuel Giraldo (MSc)

Tomi Iivonen (MSc)

Sandra Nurttila (MSc)

Laura Svärd (MSc)

Xingting Zeng (MSc)


Aleksi Eronen (MSc)


Afnan Al-Hunaiti (PhD)

Markus Lindqvist (PhD)

Ahlam Sibaouih (PhD)

Elina Autio (MSc)


Feda Al-Qaisi (PhD)

Sari Rautiainen (PhD)

Eeva Heliövaara (MSc)

Jere Mannisto (MSc)


Juha Keskiväli (PhD)

Kalle Lagerblom (PhD)

Teemu Niemi (PhD)

Vili Salo (MSc)