The Doctoral Programme in Political, Societal and Regional Change belongs to the Doctoral School in Humanities and Social Sciences. The PSRC has 240 doctoral candidates. Seventeen of them are funded by the Doctoral Programme. The PSRC is multidisciplinary by nature. It offers lectures, courses, seminars and conferences on a variety of topics from politics and history to research skills and supervision.

The PSRC's responsible faculty is the Faculty of Social Sciences and its home unit at the responsible faculty is the Department of Political and Economic Studies. The PSRC includes disciplines and departments from three faculties of the University of Helsinki: the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry.