The Rule of Law Centre operates under the auspices of the University of Helsinki’s Faculty of Law. The Centre has a director, a board and a steering group.


The rector of the University appoints the Board of the Centre after consulting the Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the Faculty of Law. The Board has six members, two of whom are appointed by the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. The Board approves the Centre’s action plan, annual budget and work plan, and monitors their implementation. The Board also reviews the annual report on the operations and use of funds of the Rule of Law Centre. After the Board’s review, the report is submitted to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, and issues relating to staff resources are submitted to the University for decision-making.

Steering group

The steering group of the Rule of Law Centre meets no less than twice a year. The steering group is in charge of strategic guidance and supports the work of the Centre by assisting its national and international networking efforts and helping to identify legal experts necessary for the work of the Centre. In addition to representatives of the founding institutions, a representative from the Ministry of Justice is invited to the steering group along with other experienced experts in the rule of law and international cooperation from various institutions, universities and research institutes. The composition and detailed duties of the steering group will be defined later.