Measured in number of students and teachers, the Faculty of Science at the University of Helsinki is the largest science faculty in Finland. The students, the skilled and motivated staff, and the high-standard research infra-structure, i.e. research equipment, are the faculty’s strongest resources.

Within its disciplines, the faculty carries out basic research on a top level internationally, and gives the highest education based on that research. The quality of the work is based on research within exact sciences, both at home and abroad, science-based teaching, as well as the lively interaction with cooperation partners.

The faculty is grounded in the basic science research, applied and complemented by geography and geology. The faculty has a significant responsibility in promoting the development of the information society and scientific expertise, which are the focus areas of the national science and education policy. The research and teaching on the topic of global climate change is hardly the smallest of these challenges!

There are six departments: Department of PhysicsDepartment of Geosciences and GeographyDepartment of ChemistryDepartment of Mathematics and Statistics, Department of Computer Science and Institute for Atmospheric and Earth System Research (INAR), which is a joint unit under the Faculty of Science and Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry.

Research units also working within the faculty are Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP, a collaboration between the University of Helsinki, Aalto University, the University of Jyväskylä, and the Universities of Technology in Lappeenranta and Tampere) and Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT, a collaboration between the University of Helsinki and Aalto University).