Faculty leadership

The faculty is headed by the Dean, who is elected for four years at a time. The Dean oversees the work of the faculty and is responsible for its finances, general activities, and implementing the HR administration in line with the university’s staff policy. The departments of the faculty are managed by the Heads of Departments, who are elected for four years at a time.

Sasu Tarkoma

Professor of computer science

Responsible for innovations

Dean's secretary, Service Coordinator Taina Hardén 

tel. 0294150502, 0503159915


P.O. 64 (Gustaf Hällströmin katu 2)

00014 University of Helsinki


Samuli Siltanen

Professor of industrial mathematics

Responsible for societal interaction, communication, science education and alumni activities

Deputy Dean


Gareth Law

Professor of radiochemistry

Responsible for doctoral education, sustainable development, international matters

Sami Moisio

Professor of regional planning and policy

Responsible for Bsc and Msc teaching

Minna Palmroth

Professor of computational space physics

Responsible for research, research infrastructures, business cooperation and digitalisation


Hanna Vehkamäki

Professor of computational aerosol physics

Responsible for well-being, equality, bilingual affairs, and facilities, safety and security


Faculty Council

Information about the composition, duties, meetings and meeting minutes of the Faculty Council can be found on the intranet (requires you to log in using your University credentials). The minutes are stored after their approval. If you wish to view the minutes, please send a request to the secretary of the Faculty Council.