The Awards

Since 1984 the World Cultural Council has recognized individuals who have made exceptional achievements in science, education, and the arts, with the final objective of promoting tolerance, peace and fraternity. The WCC seeks to encourage the use of science, art and education to further the well-being of humanity.

The prizes are given to individuals or teams whose work has had a significant and positive impact on the cultural legacy of mankind. The high level of the jury, comprised of world-renowned scholars and eminent individuals in the above fields, enhances the prestige of the awards.

This year, the WCC and University of Helsinki, which is one of the most dynamic universities in the Nordic region, are enthusiastic about expanding their partnership by celebrating this Award Ceremony which is exactly twenty years after their first jointly hosted event. It offers the opportunity to cooperate in disseminating their many shared values including 1) excellence as a guiding principle in research, higher education and innovation, 2) inspiring future generations by recognizing extraordinary individuals and achievements, 3) embracing a vision of diversity and mutual respect towards a better world, and 4) promoting a strong vision of sustainable practices and respect to the environment.

This innovative university offers an ideal venue for recognizing the outstanding achievements of the WCC’s laureates and celebrating the inspiration that they bring as role models for future generations.

The annual “Albert Einstein” World Award of Science recognizes individuals whose scientific or technological achievements have brought progress and benefit to mankind. The laureate is selected by the Council’s Interdisciplinary Committee, which comprises of highly accomplished scientists from across the globe.

The “José Vasconcelos” World Award of Education is granted to a renowned educator, an authority in the field of teaching, or someone who has brought about visionary development in education policy. Through his/her work, the individual or team should have had a significantly positive influence on the quality and reach of teaching and learning in society. The prize is awarded every second year.

The World Award laureates will receive:

  • a Diploma
  • a Commemorative Medal
  • an Award Cheque