Leadership and organisation
The rector and the board of the Swedish School of Social Science are responsible for its decision-making and leadership.

Rector Johan Bärlund
Professor in Nordic law (on leave)

The rector manages the operations of the Swedish School of Social Science and is responsible for carrying out its duties efficiently, economically and effectively. The rector has overall responsibility for the School’s human resources and financial affairs as well as assets.

Contact information
phone +35850 448 2735

Rector's secretary: Stella Mattsson

Vice-rector Stefan Sjöblom
In charge of research
Professor of local administration

Contact information
phone +35850 415 4542

Vice-rector Anna Henning-Lindblom
In charge of academic affairs
University lecturer in i social psychology

Contact information
phone +35850 415 4569


The board is the School’s highest decision-making organ and comprises the rector, who chairs the board, nine student and staff members, a member appointed by the University, and two external members. The vice-rectors have the right to be present at board meetings and to exercise their right to speak.

The term of office of the board is four calendar years; however, the student members are selected for a term of two calendar years at a time.

The duties of the board include the following:

  • Selecting the rector and vice-rector(s) and deciding on the vice-rectors’ duties
  • Approving the regulations of the School
  • Developing the School’s operations and making proposals and issuing statements in matters relevant to the School
  • Approving a target programme as well as the related budget and human resources plan of the School
  • Deciding on the curriculum and the degree regulations
  • Deciding on the number of students admitted to the School as well as the admissions criteria
  • Deciding on matters delegated by the rector to the board

Members and substitutes of the board 2018-2021

  • Counsellor of Social Welfare Stefan Mutanen
    (sub. CEO Georg Henrik Wrede)

  • University lecturer Tuomas Martikainen
    (sub. director Leena Suurpää)

  • Professor Helena Blomberg-Kroll
    (group sub. professors Elina Oinas & Jan-Erik Lönnqvist)

  • Professor Jaana Hujanen
    (group sub. professors Elina Oinas & Jan-Erik Lönnqvist)

  • Professor Stefan Sjöblom
    (group sub. professors Elina Oinas & Jan-Erik Lönnqvist)

  • Professor Marjaana Seppänen (UH)
    (sub. professor Åsa von Schoultz (UH))

  • University lecturer Harry Lunabba
    (sub. university lecturer Sebastian Godenhjelm)

  • Universitety lecturer Beata Segercrantz
    (sub. university lecturer Kenneth Sillander)

  • Educational planning officer Sofia Heikel-Virkkunen
    (sub. HR specialist Stella Mattsson)

  • Student Liinu Inkeroinen (2020-2021)
    (sub. student Viola Mickos)

  • Student Alex Piispanen (2020-2021)
    (sub. student Ira Niemistö)

  • Student Emma Tikkanen (2020-2021)
    (sub. student Titus Wahlgren)