The Molecular and Translational Virology research group was established in 2009.

You can find information on the current members of the laboratory here.

Minna Poranen, group leader

Adjunct Professor in Molecular Virology

Our group hosts the Biocomplex research infrastructure of the HiLIFE. Read more about Biocomplex Purification infrastructure on the Integrated Structural Cell Biology website.

Alesia Levanova
Xiaoyu Sun
Gabija Ziedaite-Ojala
Sari Mäntynen

I completed my PhD on membrane-containing bacteriophages in the group of Professor Jaana Bamford at the University of Jyväskylä in 2016. A novel dsRNA phage was characterized during my PhD work, prompting me to further explore this fascinating group of viruses. After earning my doctorate, I held postdoctoral positions in the laboratories of Dr Lotta-Riina Sundberg at the University of Jyväskylä and Dr Samuel L. Díaz-Muñoz at the University of California, Davis. In Sundberg group I focused on the characterization of a novel internal membrane-containing ssDNA-phage, whereas in Díaz-Muñoz laboratory I studied interactions between dsRNA phages and their hosts. I was awarded Postdoctoral Researcher funding by the Academy of Finland (2019-2022) to investigate virus host range evolution using dsRNA phages as models. My research takes place both at the University of Helsinki and UC Davis. 

Veera Brusila
Elina Roininen
Meri Salomaa
Katri Eskelin
  • Dr Peter Sarin, Postdoctoral fellow 2011
  • Dr Heli Mönttinen PhD student 2011-2015; Postdoctoral fellow 2015-2016
  • Dr Seleste Cele, Postdoctoral fellow 2012-2013
  • Dr Daria Starkova, Postdoctoral fellow 2015-2017
  • Dr Mirka Lampi, PhD student 2017-2019; Postdoctoral fellow 2019
  • Dr Outi Lyytinen, PhD student 2013-2019