INAR institute is starting from 1.1.2018 as joint unit under the Faculty of Science and Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry within the University of Helsinki.

Director of INAR institute
Markku Kulmala

Anna Lintunen

INAR steering committee

Dean Sasu Tarkoma (chair)
Dean Ritva Toivonen (vice-chair)
Professor Jaana Bäck
INAR Director Markku Kulmala
Professor Timo Vesala
Research Coordinator Anna Lintunen (secretary)

INAR management group

Prof. Markku Kulmala (chair, INAR director)
Professor Tuukka Petäjä (debuty vice-director on thematic division aerosol physics and research infrastructures)
Research director Katja Lauri (debuty vice-director on education)
Professor Jaana Bäck (vice-director on thematic division ecosystem processes)
Professor Timo Vesala (vice-director on thematic division meteorology, hydrosphere geophysics and biogeochemical cycles)
Prof. Hanna Vehkamäki
University Lecturer Taina Ruuskanen
Assoc. prof. Katrianne Lehtipalo
Research coordinator Anna Lintunen (secretariat)

INAR Department council


Personnel will use double affiliation to INAR institute and the department of their discipline.

Staff stat­ist­ics in INAR University of Helsinki
INAR Equal­ity and Work Well-Be­ing Group

The INAR Equality Group aims at assuring the well-being of the ATM division members by voicing and listening to situations of unfair treatment that may arise.

If you feel you need to speak to someone confidentially, please approach any of the members. Your conversation will not be discussed in the Equality Group without your consent.