Doctoral programmes

The University of Helsinki’s doctoral programmes provide discipline-specific supervision and teaching to doctoral students. Each doctoral programme is part of one of the University’s four doctoral schools. The Faculty of Theology is responsible for the Doctoral Programme in Theology and Religious Studies.

Applications for the right to complete postgraduate studies must always be submitted to a faculty, which also decides whether to award the doctoral degree. However, all doctoral students at the University of Helsinki must also belong to a doctoral programme. The boundaries between the programmes are flexible, and students can also complete studies offered by other doctoral programmes, if the studies comply with their faculty’s degree requirements.

The University’s professors and principal investigators supervise doctoral students involved in doctoral programmes in their own field of specialisation.

The University allocates resources to doctoral programmes for a number of salaried doctoral student positions, but most of the students in the programmes receive funding from other sources or pursue their degree while working elsewhere.

Doctoral students of the Faculty of Theology can belong to the following doctoral programmes (the responsible faculty for each programme is indicated in brackets):

All of the above programmes are part of the Doctoral School in Humanities and Social Sciences.

When applying for a doctoral study right, the applicant must also choose the doctoral programme they wish to belong to. It's best to discuss the choice of doctoral programme in advance with the supervisor. Most of the doctoral students at the Faculty of Theology choose the Doctoral Programme in Theology and Religous Studies.