University of Helsinki celebrates new professors twice a year towards the end of term. By tradition Inauguration is always a Wednesday, either the last in May or the first in December. After greeting briefly the University leadership every professor holds his/her inaugural lecture of about 20 minutes.

Inaurugation was last held 7.12.2016: programme

7.12. lectures gave: Maria Brockhaus, Maaret Castrén, Ellen Eftestøl-Wilhelmsson, Anu Kantele, Janne Kivivuori, Tapio Lappi-Seppälä, Mika Niemelä, Anja Nygren, Jari Salo, Sampsa Vanhatalo and Xiao Zhong.

New professors from 1.8.2015