Leadership and decision-making

The highest decision-making power is exercised by the Board of the centre.

Operational activities are led by the Director of the centre, who is appointed by the Dean of the Faculty of Science for a four-year term.

The duties of the Centre’s Board include

  • Deciding on strategic guidelines, possible reorganisations as well as large-scale cooperation agreements,
  • Approving the long-term action plan and budget for the full strategic term as well as the annual action plan and budget, and
  • Confirming the annual report.

Based on the proposals by the faculties, the Dean of the Faculty of Science has named the following members (and deputy members) to the Board for the term that ends on 31 December 2020:

  • Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry:
    Vice Dean Janna Pietikäinen (Dean Ritva Toivonen)
  • Faculty of Arts:
    Vice Dean Ulla Tuomarla (Professor Matti Miestamo)
  • Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences:
    Vice Dean Helena Åström (Professor Kurt Fagerstedt)
  • Faculty of Educational Sciences:
    Dean Johanna Mäkelä (Vice Dean Anu Laine)
  • Faculty of Law:
    Vice Dean Sakari Melander
  • Faculty of Medicine:
    Dean Risto Renkonen
  • Faculty of Pharmacy:
    Vice Dean Outi Salminen (Dean Jouni Hirvonen)
  • Faculty of Science:
    Dean Kai Nordlund (Vice Dean Samuli Siltanen)
  • Faculty of Theology:
    Dean Antti Räsänen (Vice Dean Elina Vuola)

Dean of the Faculty of Science serves as the chair of the Board, and the Decisions at Board meetings are presented by the Director of the Centre.

The duties of the Director are

  • Leading and developing the work and cooperation of the Science Education Centre as well as research into science education
  • Preparing and presenting matters to be discussed by the Board
  • Monitoring the implementation of the action plan and finances
  • Being responsible for and monitoring the implementation of decisions

During the term January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2020 the Director is Research Director, Professor, Dr. Maija Aksela.

The duty of the Vice Director is attending to the duties of the Director in her absence.

During the term January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2020 the Director is Professor, Dr. Juha Oikkonen.

The steering group supports the Centre’s management and operational planning.

The Director has invited experts from various University of Helsinki units as well as the University’s external partners to the steering group for the term 1 January 2017–31 December 2020.