The happy and bright group consists of people from varied educational backgrounds, ranging from biologists and pharmacists to medical doctors and beyond.

All emails are with Scandinavian alphabets changed into their non-umlaut variants, unless otherwise stated. If in doubt on who to contact, please address the group leader, professor Esa Korpi.

MD, PhD, professor of pharmacology, group leader

Esa has published over 270 original articles and reviews in the fields of neuropsychopharmacology, biomedical alcohol research, neurobiology of addiction and brain diseases.

PhD (Pharm), adjunct professor (dosentti), senior lecturer 

An expert on mouse behavioral pharmacology, Anni-Maija works as a principal investigator as well as the manager of the Rodent phenotyping and in vivo experimentation unit Rofe. 

PhD (physiology), Doctoral candidate

On maternal and parental leave since February 2020.

Elina is working on subtyping the VTA GABA neurons using a variety of electrophysiological techniques and patch-seq method to sample for single-cell RNA-sequence.

MSc in Pharmacy, Doctoral candidate

Lauri started in the lab by working on his master's thesis on chemogenetic modulation of behavior in GABA neuron-Cre mice in 2016. Now, in his PhD project he studies the effects of serotonergic hallucinogens, or psychedelics, on addiction-related behavioural phenotypes.

MD/PhD student 

Advancing his doctoral thesis along his clinical medical studies, Milo's research concentrates on stimulant and alcohol effects in rodent models.

MSc (Translational medicine), Doctoral candidate

With a background in translational medicine and skilled in several neuroscientific techniques, Annika joined the lab in early 2020 to work with the midbrain neuron characterisation project. Currently, her own PhD project focuses on GABAA receptor modulation and drug responses.

BSc in Pharmacy, TRANSMED student

Juliana joined the lab to work on her master's thesis project on psychedelic drugs and reward functions with Lauri and Anni-Maija.

BSc, Neuroscience student

Essi is working on her master's thesis concentrating on imaging techniques and stimulant-induced neuroplastic changes together with Milo.

Bachelor of Health Care, Biomedical laboratory scientist

Substituting Heidi during her maternity leave, Pirjo is an experienced medical laboratory technologist with wide expertise in life science and biomedical techniques.  

Research technician
On maternity and parental leave from November 2019.

Heidi is proficient in several critical laboratory techniques needed in Korpi lab, taking care of, among other things, perfusing brains, cutting brain sections, performing immunohistochemical and in situ hybridization experiments, counting the cell numbers, assisting in phenotyping of model systems and genotyping the mouse lines.

Doctoral students

Milica Maksimovic 
Defended her thesis on mouse models for psychotic disorders in 2015, currently a Regulatory/Pharmacological Expert at DRA Consulting.
Bjørnar den Hollander 
Defended his thesis on novel amphetamine-type stimulants in 2015.
Kati Hellsten (née Saarelainen)
Defended her thesis on benzodiazepine-sensitive GABAA receptors in 2015.
Elena de Miguel (née Vashchinkina)
Defended her thesis on tonic GABAergic inhibition in 2013, currently an imaging resercher at the VU University Medical Imaging Center
Teemu Aitta-aho 
Defended his thesis on AMPA-type glutamate receptors in 2012, currently a university lecturer and a group leader at the University of Helsinki.
Anne Panhelainen
Defended her thesis on the interplay of the mesolimbic dopamine system and benzodiazepines in 2012, currently a senior researcher at the University of Helsinki.
Elli Leppä 
Defended her thesis on parvalbumin-expressing GABA neurons in 2011, currently a Development Pharmacist at Pharmaceutical Information Centre.
Tommi Möykkynen 
Defended his thesis on ethanol and AMPA-type glutamate receptors in 2009, currently a senior researhcer at the University of Helsinki.
Saku Sinkkonen 
Defended his thesis on the extrasynaptic GABAA receptors in 2005, currently an otology specialist at Helsinki University Hospital.

Postdocs and visiting researchers


Master's and medical students, research interns

Nuppu Korhonen, medical student 2019-2020
Alvar Martti, medical student 2019
Elina Hynninen, medical student 2018-2020
Ulla Rahijärvi, master's student 2017  
Aleksi Olkkola, medical student 2017 
Mikko Forss, medical student/intern 2016-2017