HUGG comprises researchers and students interested in approaching geodynamic questions from a range of backgrounds and angles.

Brief descriptions of current members can be found below.

David Whipp

David Whipp is a Professor of Geodynamic Modelling and the leader of the Geodynamics group. He received a doctoral degree in 2008 from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in the US and was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Rennes, France and Dalhousie University, Canada before joining the University of Helsinki in 2013. His research interests include the interaction of geodynamic and geomorphic processes, low-temperature thermochronology, tectonics of oblique plate convergence, and high-performance computing. Detailed information is available in his CV.

Miisa Häkkinen

Miisa Häkkinen is a doctoral student at the Department of Geosciences and Geography at the University of Helsinki. Her doctoral research focuses on the metamorphic and tectonic evolution of southern Finland during the late stages of the Svecofennian orogeny. The project is led by Jon Pownall and co-supervised by Dave Whipp at the University of Helsinki, and Pentti Hölttä and Sayab Muhammad at the Geological Survey of Finland. Miisa holds an M.Sc in Solid Earth Geosciences (2020) from the University of Paris and a B.Sc in Geosciences (2018) from La Rochelle University.

Tuija Luhta

Tuija Luhta is a doctoral student and Team Manager at the Geological Survey of Finland. Her interests are in microseismic swarms in Finland and their potential relationship to processes including glacial isostatic adjustment. Her research focus is on the Kouvola region in Finland in a project jointly supervised by Timo Tiira. Tuija received a Master's degree in Solid Earth Geophysics from the University of Helsinki in 2019.

Veikko Peltonen

Veikko Peltonen is a doctoral student with interests in cosmogenic radionuclide dating and its applications to glaciated landscapes. Veikko's thesis investigates the Quaternary glacial history in Finland and evidence of past glacial transport of boulders using cosmogenic radionuclide dating of transported boulders. Veikko's thesis is jointly supervised with Seija Kultti. He received his Master's degree in Geology from the University of Helsinki in 2020.

Ida-Maria Hanski

Ida-Maria Hanski is a student in the Geology and Geophysics master's program. Previously she has studied energy technology, but because she has always been interested in earthquakes, she came to study at the University of Helsinki. Ida-Maria's master's thesis deals with detection thresholds for the Finnish national seismic network as well as station quality. Her Master's thesis project is led by Kati Oinonen and Tuija Luhta, and jointly supervised by Dave Whipp.

Leevi Tuikka

Leevi Tuikka is former Master's student interested in numerical geodynamic modeling and high-performance computing. Leevi's thesis involved development of the DOUAR software to improve calculations of metamorphic pressure-temperature-time histories and allow data storage in the HDF5 data format, as well as creating some generic 3D models of continent-continent collision for the Paleoproterozoic. This builds on earlier work Leevi did during his Bachelor's studies in Theoretical Physics, completed in 2020.

Mehrnoosh Ghadimi

Mehrnoosh Ghadimi is a visiting researcher at the University of Helsinki at the Department of Geosciences and Geography. She started her collaboration within Petri Pellikka's ECHOLAB and with HUGG in 2016. She received her Ph.D. degree from the University of Tehran, Iran in 2013. In 2012-2013 she spent a period at Zaragoza University in Spain. Currently, she is a lecturer at the University of Tehran. Her expertise and research interests include geomorphology, glacial geomorphology, karst, natural hazards, and remote sensing, and especially the application of radar data.

Former members
  • Aleksi Rantanen (MSc, 2022)
  • Yijun Wang (MSc, 2020)
  • Lotta Ylä-Mella (MSc, 2020)
  • Nelli Metiäinen (MSc, 2019)
  • Lars Kaislaniemi (Postdoc, 2015-2018)
  • Jorina Schütt (Ph.D., 2018)
  • Niclas Blomqvist (MSc, 2016)