Lab members of the Genome Stability Group
Liisa Kauppi

Principal Investigator

PhD, Academy Research Fellow

Haartmaninkatu 8 (PO Box 63)
00014 University of Helsinki

Phone: +358 2941 25555

Barun Pradhan

Postdoctoral researcher

Project: LINE-1 retrotransposition in human cancers

About 50% of the human genome is derived from transposable elements or “jumping genes” that copied its sequence and inserted into a novel genomic location. Out of different families of transposable elements, Long Interspersed Nuclear Elements or LINE-1s are the only autonomously mobile element in the human genome. Although over 500,000 copies of LINE-1s exist in the human genome, approximately only 100 of them can move. As LINE-1s actively move in different cancer genomes, my research focuses on finding which LINE-1s are particularly active in high-grade serous ovarian cancer and where do de novo LINE-1 insertions occur in the cancer genome.


Elli Aska

PhD student

Project: The effect of interplay between DNA mismatch repair proteins and chromatin on local mutation frequency

My research focuses on mutational dynamics shaped by DNA mismatch repair. I am interested in why and where replication errors accumulate, and on the other hand, are repaired in different tissues and cell types.


Sanna Pikkusaari

PhD Student

Project: Sensitizing DNA repair proficient ovarian cancer cells to chemotherapy

My research focuses on DNA damage repair, especially homologous recombination (HR) repair, in high-grade serous ovarian cancer (HGSOC). In our lab, we have established an immunofluorescence-based assay to detect HR deficiency in HGSOC tumor cells. By utilizing this assay, my aim is to find a way to (re-)sensitize cancer cells to chemotherapy by manipulating HR repair pathway.


Fatih Genç

PhD Student

Project: LINE-1 retrotransposition dynamics in high-grade serous ovarian cancer

LINE-1 are transposable elements that comprise approximately 17% of human DNA. Even though silent in normal cells, LINE-1s are transcriptionally active in different types of cancer, often resulting in de novo insertions and therefore conducting to genomic instability. I am interested to understand the genomic evolution of LINE-1 activity in high-grade serous ovarian cancer.


Jasmin Grönman

Masters student

Saundarya Shah

Lab manager


Oona Mehtälä

Summer student

Kauppi lab alumni

Miia Kaistamaa, MD

Kul Shrestha, PhD

Manuela Tumiati, PhD

Nanna Sarvilinna, PhD

Imrul Faisal, PhD

Linlin Zhang, MD, PhD

Susanna Jonkka, MSc

Denis Dermadi Bebek, PhD

Vanessa Keser, ERASMUS student

Venkatram Yellapragada, MSc 

Juha Matilainen, PhD 

Henrik Talsi, summer student 

Maarit Hakkarainen, lab technician

Taina Turunen, lab technician

Minna Tuominen, lab manager