The Doctoral Programme in Theology belongs to the Doctoral School in Humanities and Social Sciences. The responsible faculty of the Doctoral Programme in Theology is the Faculty of Theology. The programme offers a high-quality training programme and an outstanding environment for research in all theologigal and religious studies research fields and areas.

All those who aim at the Doctor in Theology degree in the Faculty of Theology belong, in principle, to the Doctoral Programme in Theology. The programme is also open for doctoral students who have Master’s degree in another field than theology. There are about 200 doctoral students in the doctoral programme. The number of annually completed doctoral degrees is approximately 15.