The doctoral education system of the University of Helsinki consists of four doctoral schools and 32 doctoral programmes. New doctoral candidates apply doctoral programme membership at the same time as they apply postgraduate study right at the doctoral programme.

You may apply LUOVA membership if you begin to work on a doctoral thesis related to any of the fields covered by LUOVA. Currently our candidates are enrolled at the following departments but candidates from other departments may be accepted as well if LUOVA is the most suitable doctoral programme.

Department of Biosciences
Department of Environmental Sciences
Department of Forest Sciences
Department of Agricultural Sciences
Department of Geosciences and Geography

LUOVA belongs to the Doctoral School in Environmental, Food and Biological Sciences (YEB).