Honorary Doctors

The Faculty of Law will confer six honorary doctors (honoris causa) in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements or cultural and societal achievements.
Reijo Aarnio

Current Position

Senior Advisor, Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra


1981: Master of Laws, University of Helsinki

Significant merits

Data Protection Ombudsman 1997-2020

Member of Council of Human Rights in Finland (2012-2020)

Adjunct Professor of Law at Georgetown University

Joint Supervisory Body and Appeals Committee of JSB of Europol

Article 29 Data Protection Working Party (European Data Protection Board) since 1997, Vice chair 2000-2004

Permanent expert collaborator of the European Commission

Joxerramon Bengoetxea


University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)


1989: Ph.D, University of Edinburgh

1986: Law degree, UPV/EHU

Current Position

Director of the International Master of Sociology of Law (Oñati, IISL)

Professor of Jurisprudence in the Law Degree, UPV/EHU

Professor of Legal Theory, Sociology and Philosophy of Law, UPV/EHU

Secretary General of EuroBasque

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board, University of Helsinki

Significant Merits

Writer of The Legal Reasoning of the European Court of Justice (OUP, 1993)

Has edited several notable books and published more than 150 articles

Has served as an opponent at the University of Helsinki and has given advanced courses for doctoral researchers

Mads Bryde Andersen


University of Copenhagen


1989: LLD (dr.jur.) from University of Copenhagen

1984: Attorney-at-law, admitted to appear in Danish high courts

1981: LLM (can.jur), University of Copenhagen

Current Position

Professor of Private Law, University of Copenhagen

Honorary member of the Law Society of Finland

Chair of Juridisk Forening in Copenhagen

Member of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law

Member of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR

Significant merits

2002-2017: Chair of the Danish section of the annual Nordic lawyers’ meeting

2017: Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation prize for contributions to legal research

Has also served as an opponent in public examinations of doctoral theses at the University of Helsinki

Since 2003: Editor-in-chief of the article section of the Ugeskrift for Retsvæsen journal

2005: Honorary doctor, University of Oslo

Riitta Leppiniemi

Current Position

Chief Judge, Attorney-at-Law


1987: Master of Laws, University of Helsinki

1989: Trained on the bench (Attorney-at-Law)

Significant Merits

2019: Awarded the honorary Finnish title of laamanni (chief judge).

2007 - 2010 (deputy chair from 2004 to 2007): Chair of the Finnish Bar Association 2001 – 2004 Membership in the Board of Directors of the Finnish Bar Association

2010–2020 Member of the Judicial Appointments Board

Member of several Ministry of Justice working groups.

Jo Shaw


University of Edinburgh

Current Position

Professor, Salvesen Chair of European Institutions, University of Edinburgh

Head of University of Edinburgh Law School

Co-Director of the Global Citizenship Observatory


2013 - 2013: Entrepreneurial University Leadership Programme - Entrepreneurial leadership, Oxford Said Business School

1982 – 1983: European Law, Université libre de Bruxelles

1979 – 1982, Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Law with modern languages, University of Cambridge

Significant Merits

Advanced Grant by the European Research Council

2008–2013: Member of the Centre of Excellence in Foundations of European Law and Polity Research

2009-2013: Dean of Research of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

2014-2017: Director of the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities Has served on Academy of Finland expert panels

2017-2018: EURIAS Fellow at the University of Helsinki’s Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies

Lauri Tarasti


1966: Master of Laws, University of Helsinki

1971: Licentiate of Laws, University of Helsinki

1972: Trained on the bench

Significant Merits

1974–1983: Senior Adviser for Legislative Affairs at the Ministry of Justice

1983–1994: Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of the Environment

1994–2007: Justice of the Supreme Administrative Court

He has also held positions of trust in the sports sector, where he has served as secretary general of the World Athletics Championships, long-term chair of the IAAF Arbitration Panel, chair of the IAAF Ethics Commission, a member of the Sport and Law Commission of the International Olympic Committee, and chair of the Finnish Sports Law Association

Author of seven books