INAR institute is starting from 1.1.2018 as joint unit under the Faculty of Science and Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry within the University of Helsinki. The structure at national level is still under negotiations and will finalize its form during year 2018 except for the national INAR council that is active.”


Director of INAR institute
Markku Kulmala

Anna Lintunen

UH INAR steering committee

Dean Kai Nordlund (chair), deputy member: Vice-Dean Marja-Liisa Riekkola
Dean Ritva Toivonen (vice-chair), deputy member: Vice-Dean Maija Tenkanen
Professor Jaana Bäck
INAR Director Markku Kulmala
Professor Timo Vesala
Research Coordinator Anna Lintunen (secretary)

UH INAR executive committee

Prof. Markku Kulmala (chair)
Prof. Timo Vesala
Prof. Hanna Vehkamäki
Prof. Tuukka Petäjä
Prof. Jaana Bäck
Researcher director Katja Lauri
Research coordinator Anna Lintunen (secretariat)
University Lecturer Taina Ruuskanen

Department council participants

Kulmala, Markku, Head of Department (chair)
INAR executive committee
Ehn, Mikael, Associate Professor
Järvinen, Heikki, Professor
Pihlatie, Mari, Associate Professor
Uotila, Petteri, Professor
Passananti, Monica, Postdoctoral Researcher
Sahoo, Ganapati, Postdoctoral Researcher
Sinclair, Victoria, University Researcher
Xavier, Carlton, Doctoral Student
Karttunen, Sasu, Student
Lehmusjärvi, Tuuli, Student (Resonanssi ry)
Luostarinen, Tiia, Student (Geysir ry)
Teräväinen, Venla, Student
Ruuskanen, Taina, University Lecturer
Laurila, Tuulikki (University Services, secretary of the meeting)

Personnel will use double affiliation to INAR institute and the department of their discipline.

National INAR board
will be announced

National INAR council
Markku Kulmala (Chair), Jaana Bäck (University of Helsinki)
Yrjö Viisanen, Ari Laaksonen (Finnish Meteorological Institute)
Kari Lehtinen, Annele Virtanen (University of Eastern Finland)
Jorma Keskinen, Miikka Dal Maso (Tampere University of Technology)
Anna Lintunen (secretary, University of Helsinki)

Additional expert members:
Tuukka Petäjä (SMEAR stations)
Timo Vesala (ICOS)
Hanna Lappalainen (PEEX)

Scientific advisory board
will be announced

All personnel will use double affiliation to INAR and their home institution.

INAR HY personnel 2018


The INAR Equality Group aims at assuring the well-being of the ATM division members by voicing and listening to situations of unfair treatment that may arise.

If you feel you need to speak to someone confidentially, please approach any of the members. Your conversation will not be discussed in the Equality Group without your consent.