Jukka Pekola announced as acting director of InstituteQ

Sabrina Maniscalco has been nominated as the Chair of the steering group of the Finnish Quantum Institute, established together by University of Helsinki, Aalto University and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland.

The newly established Finnish Quantum Institute – InstituteQ – has announced Aalto Physics professor Jukka Pekola as its acting director. University of Helsinki Physics professor Sabrina Maniscalco acts as the Chair of the Steering group.

InstituteQ brings together expertise in research, education, and innovation to drive Finland’s world-leading quantum technology research. It’s founding members are University of Helsinki, Aalto University and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. 

Professor Pekola has over 30 years of experience at the forefront of quantum technology research, and was chosen by the Institute’s leadership committee to lead the development of the activities of InstituteQ.

‘Goals of the institute are threefold,’ explains Professor Pekola, ‘firstly, to coordinate our national research efforts; secondly, to provide the best possible education, both in graduate and industrial programs; and thirdly, in driving innovation.’

‘In Finland, we already have a strong environment for quantum technology, such as the OtaNano research infrastructure and the QTF Centre of Excellence’ Professor Pekola continues, ‘We want the Institute to guide the development of current infrastructure, and have a role in generating new pathways and projects for quantum technologies. The development of the field is clearly hindered by shortage of experts, that's why it is important to organise national education at both doctoral and master's level. We are looking forward to growing the institute to include more partners, collaborators and stakeholders from across research and industry in Finland. Together we can get the maximum benefit out of our great research environment, and develop it further to meet the needs of the future.’

InstituteQ’s steering group has been nominated by the leadership committee, to support the development of the institute collaboration.

Steering group members

Sabrina Maniscalco (Chair) Professor, Department of Physics, University of Helsinki, 

Jyri Hämäläinen, Dean (School of Electrical Engineering), Aalto University 

Antti Kupiainen, Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Helsinki 

Jouko Lampinen, Dean (School of Science), Aalto University 

Himadri Majumdar, Quantum Program Manager, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland 

Pekka Pursula, Research Manager, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

Deputy members

Joonas Govenius, Research Team Leader, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland 

Mikko Möttönen, Professor, Department of Applied Physics, Aalto University 

Kai Nordlund, Dean (Faculty of Science), University of Helsinki 

Jukka Nurminen, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Helsinki 

Mika Prunnila, Research Professor, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland 

Ilkka Tittonen, Professor, Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering, Aalto University

Con­tact De­tails

Jukka Pekola

Aalto University

+358 50 3442697


Sabrina Maniscalco

Helsinki University

+358 50 3663922


Read more

Quantum tech­no­lo­gies can re­volu­tion­ise health­care and the way we pro­duce en­ergy and food (3.5.2021)

In­sti­tu­teQ brings to­gether top ex­pert­ise in quantum science and tech­no­lo­gies (7.4.2021)