The Faculty is led by the dean, who is selected for a term of four years. The dean shall manage the faculty’s operations and be responsible for the efficient, economic and effective completion of the faculty’s duties. The dean shall have overall responsibility for the faculty’s human resources, finances and assets.
Dean Jari Yli-Kauhaluoma

Jari Yli-Kauhaluoma 

Yli-Kauhaluoma is a professor of medicinal chemistry at the University of Helsinki. His research group investigates novel antibiotics as well as compounds that affect protein kinases and the regeneration of heart muscle cells. Reseach group also tackles challenges associated with sustainable drug development and contribute to establishing a new synthesis infrastructure with researchers on Kumpula Campus.

Executive assistant: Soile Saloranta

Vice-Dean Mia Sivén

Mia Sivén is a docent of industrial pharmacy who focuses in her research especially on the special characteristics of pharmacotherapy for special groups from the perspective of drug forms, including the development of innovative forms for paediatric medication and the assessment of drug forms suited to elderly people or companion animals.

Her research is targeted at the pharmaceutical processes employed in the manufacture of various drug forms, such as spray drying, and environmental aspects associated with pharmaceutical products. During a researcher exchange period (APC Ltd, Dublin), Sivén has familiarised herself with the continuous production process of biological macromolecules and their conversion into a drug form. In terms of research on learning, she specialises in the development of interactive digital learning environments and AR/VR applications. Mia Sivén is a fellow in the Teachers’ Academy.

Vice-Dean Sivén is responsible for academic affairs and teaching development.

Vice-Dean Sivén deputises for the dean when Professor Yli-Kauhaluoma is not available.

Vice-Dean Mikko Airavaara

Mikko Airavaara

Mikko Airavaara is a professor of pharmacology and drug development. 

Vice-Dean Airavaara is responsible for research, research infrastructures, innovation and doctoral education. 

Vice-Dean Yvonne Holm

Vice-Dean Yvonne Holm is a professor of pharmaceutical biology. She specialises in pharmacognosy, which encompasses the analytics and chemotaxonomy of medicinal plants, searching for new drugs from nature and phytotherapy. Holm’s research group, which consists of two postdoctoral researchers and two doctoral students, is conducting ethnopharmacological research and trying to find new antimicrobial substances from certain African plants. 

Vice-Dean Holm is responsible for public engagement and bilingual affairs. 


Vice-Dean Timo Laaksonen

Timo Laaksonen is professor of pharmaceutical nanotechnology. His research focuses on managing drug delivery and release with the help of nanocarriers or nanomaterials. At the moment, he is particularly interested in light-activated liposomes and hydrogels.

Vice-Dean Laaksonen’s duties include matters regarding facilities and the development of the Faculty’s research infrastructure.