The department of physics is a large and multidisciplinary department that offers the most varied university programme in the physical sciences in Finland. At the beginning of 2017, the department employs over 300 people, of which 26 are professors, 6 are assistant professors, and there are many visiting professors from abroad. The research at the department and the research-based teaching follow a high international standard, are nationally significant, and promote the mental and economic wellbeing in society.

The subject of the department, physical sciences, comprises physics, theoretical physics, geophysics, meteorology, and astronomy. Teaching in Swedish and English are natural parts of the work at the department. The education of physics teachers is part of the department curriculum.

The research at the Department of Physics is divided into three sections in accordance with the focus areas of the department:

The F2k centre is a resource centre working as part of the LUMA centre and the Department of Physics to support teaching, learning, and knowledge of physics.

Head of the department: Professor Kai Nordlund