The scientific expertise in Finlands holds a high standard internationally. The exact sciences at the University of Helsinki are concentrated to the Faculty of Science, which is located at the Kumpula campus. The teaching within the sciences is based on the research, which is carried out by internationally renowned scientists.

The faculty is grounded in the basic science research, applied and complemented by geography and geology. The faculty has a significant responsibility in promoting the development of the information society and scientific expertise, which are the focus areas of the national science and education policy. The research and teaching on the topic of global climate change is hardly the smallest of these challenges! There are five departments: Department of Physics, Department of Geosciences and Geography, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics and Statistics and Department of Computer Science.

Research units also working within the faculty are Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP, a collaboration between the University of Helsinki, Aalto University, the University of Jyväskylä, and the Universities of Technology in Lappeenranta and Tampere) and Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT, a collaboration between the University of Helsinki and Aalto University).