The Faculty of Law employs some 140 teachers and researchers. It is administratively organised into disciplines, and members of the teaching and research staff may work under several of them. In addition to disciplines, the Faculty also has research units.

Since the abolition of departments in the Faculty of Law in 2010 further emphasis has been given to disciplines. Most of the disciplines are traditional, but new ones may also emerge. Many disciplines, such as procedural law and administrative law, have the same name as the equivalent branch of law in the statute book. However, the discipline of administrative law refers to academic teaching and research in that area. The Bachelor of Laws degree programme includes a wide range of examinations in compulsory disciplines and optional studies in other disciplines.

In addition to substantive legal disciplines, the Faculty carries out teaching and research in general jurisprudential studies, such as legal history, the sociology of law, law and economics and general jurisprudence. Here the term 'discipline' refers primarily to research methodology rather than to a specific branch of law: for example research in legal history employs the methods of legal history, and correspondingly, such research may focus on any legal phenomena.

Each discipline has its own staff, including a coordinator, who must be either a professor or a university lecturer with the qualifications of a docent. Doctoral students pursue postgraduate studies in a specific major subject, which must be one of the disciplines offered.