About the faculty

The internationally esteemed and highly successful Faculty of Educational Sciences at the University of Helsinki is Finland’s leading unit of research and teaching in Educational Sciences and Teacher Education.

The Faculty of Educational Sciences is led by the dean. The dean selects vice-deans to support him or her in the development of the Faculty, the implementation of the Strategic Plan of the University and the promotion of interdepartmental cooperation as determined by the dean.

The Faculty Council is a multimember administrative body of the faculty. Headed by the dean, the faculty council develops the activities of the faculty as a whole in accordance with the activities of the university, financial objectives and the university strategy, and the faculty's objectives. The faculty council has appointed various committees to prepare matters for decision-making.

There are two departments: Department of Educational Sciences, that is responsible for faculty's research and teaching, and Training schools, that is responsible for the two training schools of the university.