A doctorate at the Faculty of Arts?

Doctoral education at the University of Helsink is organised in doctoral programmes that provide supervision and teaching to doctoral students. Each doctoral programme is part of one of the University’s four doctoral schools. The Faculty of Arts is responsible for four doctoral programmes. Additionally, a doctoral degree in humanities can be completed in seven other doctoral programmes coordinated by other faculties.

A doctoral study right is always applied to from a specific doctoral programme, but the degrees are awarded by the faculties. When applying to a doctoral programme, the applicant chooses a target degree and home faculty based on their academic background and the discipline of the planned doctoral thesis.

The target degree completed at the Faculty of Arts is Doctor of Philosophy. A Doctor of Philosophy degree in humanities can be completed in all four of the doctoral programmes coordinated by the Faculty of Arts, as well as in seven doctoral programmes coordinated by other faculties.

More information on applying for a doctoral study right is available in the University's general instructions for applicants as well as on each doctoral programme's website, where you can find more detailed information on the application process and selection criteria in that particular programme.

The University’s professors and principal investigators supervise doctoral students involved in doctoral programmes in their own field of specialisation. Further information on supervisors in different doctoral programmes is also available on each doctoral programme's website.

The University allocates resources to doctoral programmes for a number of salaried doctoral student positions, but most of the students in the programmes receive funding from other sources or pursue their degree while working elsewhere.

The Faculty of Arts is responsible for the following doctoral programmes:

All of the above programmes are part of the Doctoral School in Humanities and Social Sciences.

In addition to the above, postgraduate students of the Faculty of Arts can belong to the following doctoral programmes that fall under the responsibility of other faculties (the doctoral school for each programme is indicated in brackets):