The faculty has four departments, each led by a Head of Department selected for a four-year term. Each department has a Department Council, chaired by the Head of Department. The director of the Aleksanteri Institute is responsible for the strategic and operative leading of the unit together with the board of the Aleksanteri Institute. The Institute has a management group supporting operational leadership. The group is comprised of the director and vice-director of the unit, as well as the heads of diffent sectors of the Institute.

Department of Finnish, Finno-Ugrian and Scandinavian Studies
Department of Modern Languages
Department of Philosophy, History, Culture and Art Studies
Department of World Cultures
Aleksanteri Institute