Faculty of Medicine to award 10 new honorary doctorates

The Faculty of Medicine will inaugurate ten new honorary doctorates in the doctoral conferment ceremony of the faculty in summer 2022.

The doctoral conferment ceremony of Faculty of Medicine will take place on 10 June 2022. As per tradition, the title of doctor honoris causa, the University’s highest recognition, will also be awarded to several individuals in connection with the conferment ceremony.

Doctors honoris causa of the Faculty of Medicine in 2022

Rinaldo Bellomo, Professor of Intensive Care, The University of Melbourne, and Professor of Medicine, Monash University; Director of Intensive Care Research, Austin Hospital, Melbourne, and Director of Data Analytics Research and Evaluation (DARE) Centre; Senior Research Advisor, Royal Melbourne Hospital, The University of Melbourne, Monash University and Austin Hospital, Melbourne, Australia

Dorret Boomsma, Department of Biological Psychology, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands and Professor Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)

Ricardo Della Coletta, Professor in Oral Pathology and Genetics, Department of Oral Diagnosis, FOP-UNICAMP at the School of Dentistry, Piracicaba Dental School, University of Campinas, Brazil

Gordon H. Guyatt, Distinguished University Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact and the Department of Medicine, McMaster University, Canada

Sir John Hardy, Professor of Molecular Biology of Neurological Disease at the Reta Lila Weston Institute of Neurological Studies, The University College London (UCL), UK

Risto Ilmoniemi, Aalto Distinguished Professor (technical physics), Professor of Applied Physics, Head of Department, Department of Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering (NBE), Aalto University School of Science, Espoo, Finland

Trudie Roberts, Emeritus Professor of Medical Education, Leeds Institute of Medical Education, University of Leeds, UK

Ulla-Marja Urho, Master of Science (Agriculture and Forestry), chair of the board of the Hospital District of Helsinki and Uusimaa HUS 2009–2021, Helsinki, Finland

Dieter Wolke, Professor in Department of Psychology, University of Warwick, and Division of Health Sciences, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick, Warwick, UK

Ramnik J. Xavier, Kurt Isselbacher Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School; Core member, Broad Institute and Director of the Center for Computational and Integrative Biology and Core faculty in the Department of Molecular Biology at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, USA

The honorary doctors will give a lecture in their field of specialisation on the Wednesday before the promotion on 8 June 2022. The Honorary Doctoral Symposium will take place in the large lecture hall of Biomedicum from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

The event is open to all, welcome. See the symposium programme on the promotion event page.

Further information

Annamari Ranki, conferrer of the Faculty of Medicine; annamari.ranki@helsinki.fi, phone: +358 400 875 761

Maria Söderlund-Venermo, academic conferment secretary, maria.soderlund-venermo@helsinki.fi, phone: +358 50 352 2483