The Department of Philosophy, History, Culture and Art Studies is one of the four departments in the Faculty of Arts of the University of Helsinki. The department brings together the long traditions of the oldest of the university's disciplines and new, rising subjects. The multidisciplinarity of the humanities forms the basis for the research and teaching provided by the department.