People

The board of the Centre of Excellence

Uskali Mäki
Director of the CoE, Theme leader (Models; Economics & Interdisciplinary Trade)
uskali.maki@helsinki.fi
Home page

Petri Ylikoski
Vice Director of the Coe, Theme leader (Explanation & Evidence; Analytical Sociology)
petri.ylikoski@helsinki.fi

Raimo Tuomela
Theme leader (Social Ontology)
raimo.tuomela@helsinki.fi
Home Page

On practical matters, please contact

Coordinator Pekka Mäkelä
pekka.a.makela@helsinki.fi

Webmaster Pekka Tolvanen
pekka.tolvanen@helsinki.fi


or research assistants

Sofia Blanco Sequeiros
sofia.blancosequeiros@helsinki.fi

Jesse Kuokkanen
jesse.kuokkanen@helsinki.fi

Pekka Tolvanen
pekka.tolvanen@helsinki.fi

Research Team

Sonja M. Amadae

sm.amadae@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Normative theory, political theory, philosophy of social science, history of political and economic thought, security studies, and rational choice.

Sonja M. Amadae

Alkistis Elliott-Graves

alkistis.elliott-graves@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Areas of Specialization: general philosophy of science, philosophy of biology (especially ecology)

Topics of Interest: model-world relations, target systems, epistemic issues in the study of complex systems (explanation, prediction, integration)

Alkistis Elliott-Graves

Manuela Fernández Pinto

manuela.fernandezpinto@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: science and values, social epistemology, feminist philosophy of science, and history and philosophy of economics.

Manuela Fernández Pinto

Till Grüne-Yanoff

till.grune@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Modelling practices in the social sciences; The motivational component of decision theory; The relation between positive and normative research in economics; Philosophical foundations of game theory; Agent-based simulations.

Till Grüne-Yanoff

Wade Hands

hands@pugetsound.edu
Home Page

Visiting professor

Topics of interest: economic methodology, economic theory, mathematical economics, history of economic thought, philosophy of economics.

Wade Hands

Saana Jukola

saanajukola@gmail.com

Area of specialization: philosophy of science.

Topics of interest: social epistemology, commercialization of research.

Saana Jukola

Harold Kincaid

harold.kincaid@helsinki.fi

Visiting professor

Topics of interest: philosophy of economics, experimental economics, addiction, causal inference, philosophy of social science, history of economics, epistemology of the social sciences, sociology of knowledge, philosophy of science.

Harold Kincaid

Inkeri Koskinen

inkeri.koskinen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, philosophy of the humanities, science and values, social epistemology, objectivity, relativism, participatory and collaborative research.

Inkeri Koskinen

Arto Laitinen

arto.laitinen@uta.fi
Home Page

Professor of Social and Political Philosophy at the University of Tampere.

Topics of interest: social ontology, ethics and political philosophy, theories of mutual recognition and normativity.

Arto Laitinen

Chiara Lisciandra


chiara.lisciandra@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, philosophy of the social sciences, philosophy of cognitive science.

Topics of interest: social norms, causality, explanation, scientific modelling and simulations.

Chiara Lisciandra

Pekka Mäkelä

pekka.a.makela@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: Social action; Social ontology; Moral aspects of social action; Philosophy of the social sciences.

Pekka Mäkelä

Magdalena Malecka

magdalena.malecka@helsinki.fi

I work at the intersection of modern and contemporary philosophy, philosophy of science, legal theory, and the social and behavioural sciences.

Current research interest:
applications of economics to law (especially their methodological and philosophical implications); approaches to law and policy based on findings in behavioural sciences (analysis and critique); representations of nature in the legal and political realm (historical and philosophical analysis)

Magdalena Malecka

Alain Marciano

alain.marciano@helsinki.fi

Visiting professor

Topics of interest: formal and informal norms (as mechanisms of coordination), constitutions (constitutional law and economics), history and methodology of law and economics.

Alain Marciano

Martina Merz

martina.merz@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: interdisciplinary Science and Technology Studies; sociology of science, technology, innovation, and higher education;  sociology of knowledge & culture; qualitative social science research.

Current topics of interest: inter- and transdisciplinarity; models, simulations, images; configuration of new research fields; epistemic practice and culture of the physical sciences; methodology of qualitative social science.

Martina Merz

Michiru Nagatsu

Postdoctoral research fellow
m.nagatsu@gmail.com
Home Page

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Social Science; Philosophy of Economics.

Topics of interest: Experimental Philosophy of Science; Metaphysics and Methodology of Behavioural Economics, Experimental Economics and Neuroeconomics; Foundations of Human (Ir)rationality and Sociality.

Michiru Nagatsu

Samuli Pöyhönen

samuli.poyhonen@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Kinds, concepts and classification; Relations between the social sciences and neuro- & cognitive sciences; Psychological essentialism; Classification & explanation; Concepts; Conceptual change; Social neuroscience.

Samuli Pöyhönen

Jani Raerinne

jani.raerinne@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization & topics of interests: philosophy of biology and especially ecology; theoretical community and population ecology; evolutionary biology; environmental sciences.

Jani Raerinne

Anna-Mari Rusanen

anna-mari.rusanen@helsinki.fi

I'm recently occupied as project coordinator of ConChaMo. See the websites here: http://conceptualchange.it.helsinki.fi.

Areas of specialization: philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of modeling cognitive phenomena, modeling and explaining conceptual change.

Anna-Mari Rusanen

Raimo Tuomela

tuomela@cc.helsinki.fi
Home Page

Area of specialization: Philosophy of the Social Sciences, especially the general theory of social action.

Secondary fields of research: Philosophical foundations of cognitive science; General philosophy of science; Metaphysics.

Raimo Tuomela

Petri Ylikoski

petri.ylikoski@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: Explanation; Evidence; Social ontology; Philosophy of the social sciences; Evolutionary ideas in the social sciences; Philosophy of science and technology studies; Controversies about explanation across disciplinary boundaries.

Petri Ylikoski

 

N. Emrah Aydınonat

emrah.aydinonat@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter: @aydinonat

Topics of interest: Philosophy and methodology of economics, models and explanation in economics, invisible-hand explanations, economics made fun, institutional economics.

Manuela Fernández Pinto

Judith Favereau

judith.favereau@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: philosophy of economics, experimental economics, randomization, evidence-based policy, development economics.

Judith Favereau

Marion Godman

marion.godman@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Area of specialization: philosophy of science (especially psychiatry, psychology & biology).

Topics of interest: natural kinds (particularly in the "special sciences"), scientific realism, cultural evolution and social learning, ethics and politics of science.

Marion Godman

Raul Hakli

Postdoctoral researcher
raul.hakli@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Currently working as a postdoc in project "PENSOR: Philosophical and Transdisciplinary Enquiries into Social Robotics" in Aarhus University, Denmark.

Topics of interest: collective intentionality, collective epistemology, social ontology.

Raul Hakli

Frank Hindriks

Professor in Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy at the University of Groningen
F.A.Hindriks@rug.nl
Home Page

Topics of interest: collective agency, collective intentional action, collective responsibility, constitutive rules, institutions, shared deliberation.

Frank Hindriks

Tuukka Kaidesoja

tuukka.kaidesoja@utu.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: philosophy of the social sciences, mechanism-based explanations in sociology, social ontology, relationship between the cognitive and social sciences.

Tuukka Kaidesoja

Tarja Knuuttila

tarja.knuuttila@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: scientific modeling and representation, methodology of economics, philosophy of systems and synthetic biology, the commercialization of science, science and technology studies.

Download CV
Publications

Tarja Knuuttila

Jaakko Kuorikoski

jaakko.kuorikoski@helsinki.fi
[Home page]

Topics of interest: Explanation; Causality; Mechanisms; Statistical causal modelling; Rational choice theory; Simulation.

Jaakko Kuorikoski

Aki Lehtinen

aki.lehtinen@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Rational choice theory; Philosophical foundations of game theory; Economics-inspired research in political science; Voting theory and normative issues in economics; The role of simulation in economics.

Aki Lehtinen

Miles MacLeod

m.a.j.macleod@utwente.nl

Area of specialization: Philosophy of Science, specifically of Scientific Practice.

Topics of interest: Interdisciplinarity and Transdisciplinarity, Scientific Cognition: Model-Based Reasoning, Computational Modeling and Simulation, Kind Concepts and Natural Kind Theory, Systems Biology and Evolutionary Biology, Developmental Psychology.

Miles MacLeod

Uskali Mäki

uskali.maki@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: Explanatory unification within and across disciplinary boundaries; Modes of interaction between economics and its neighbours; Explanatory pluralism; Economic models and their truth; Economic philosophy of science; Local scientific realism.

Uskali Mäki

Caterina Marchionni

caterina.marchionni@helsinki.fi
Home Page

I joined TINT in one of its previous incarnations back in 2009. I have been recently awarded an Academy Research Fellowship (September 2012–August 2017) for a research project on unification and progress in social science.

Areas of specialization: philosophy of economics, philosophy of the social sciences.

Topics of interest: modeling, simulation, scientific explanation, unification, interdisciplinary relations.

Caterina Marchionni

Carlo Martini

uni.c.martini@gmail.com
Home Page

Topics of interest: epistemology, philosophy of science, and decision.

Areas of specialisation: philosophy of economics, social epistemology, and formal epistemology.

Carlo Martini

Paavo Pylkkänen

paavo.pylkkanen@helsinki.fi

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Cognitive (Neuro)science, Consciousness Studies, Mind-Matter Research.

Topics of interest: the philosophical implications of Quantum theory and their potential relevance to a wide range of topics (e.g. mental causation, intentionality, consciousness, social ontology…); Philosophical naturalism; Naturalistic metaphysics; Structural realism and Bohm’s notions of implicate order and active information; Process philosophy; Quantum cognition; Physics and social sciences.

Paavo Pylkkänen

Kristina Rolin

Research fellow
kristina.rolin@helsinki.fi
Home page

Areas of specialization: philosophy of the social sciences, especially social epistemology and feminist epistemology.

Topics of interest: social values in the social sciences, diversity in the social sciences, collective beliefs in science, epistemic responsibility, contextualism in philosophy of science.

Kristina Rolin

Mikko Salmela

mikko.salmela@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophical psychology, especially theoretical and applied philosophy of affects.

Topics of interests: the role of affects in the structure and dynamics of social groups; types of collective affective states.

Mikko Salmela

Adrian Walsh

University of New England, Australia
awalsh@une.edu.au
Home Page

Topics of interest: Political Philosophy, Applied Ethics, Philosophy of Economics, Medieval Economic Theory; The limits of the market, Social justice, The nature of work, The morality of genetic engineering, New reproductive technologies, The commercialisation of natural resources.

Adrian Walsh

Julie Zahle

julie.zahle@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Areas of specialization: philosophy of anthropology and sociology, philosophy of the social sciences, philosophy of science.

Topics of interest: the individualism/holism debate, the method of participant observations and qualitative research method more generally, theories of practice, research ethics, value-neutrality in the social sciences.

Julie Zahle

Doctoral students

Alessandra Basso

alessandra.basso@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of social science, philosophy of economics.

Topics of interest: theory of measurement, experiments in economics, evidence, confirmation, time discounting, evaluation of climate models.

Alessandra Basso

Matti Heinonen

matti.heinonen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: social ontology, collective intentionality, mental models, scientific modeling, cognitive science, philosophy of mind and action.

Matti Heinonen

Säde Hormio

sade.hormio@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: collective responsibility, collective agency, climate ethics, applied ethics.

Säde Hormio

Tomi Kokkonen

tomi.kokkonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science (biology, psychology, and foundational issues in social sciences and humanities) and philosophy of mind.

Topics of interest: biological approaches to human mind, behavior and culture; explanation and evidence across disciplinary borders; altruism; evolution of social behavior; evolution of morality; innateness; human nature.

Tomi Kokkonen

Touko Martikainen

touko.martikainen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, interaction between fields of specialization within anthropology, evidence and explanatory competition in the social sciences and humanities.

Touko Martikainen

Luis Mireles Flores

Affiliated to EIPE, Erasmus University Rotterdam
hyperion@gardener.com

Luis Mireles Flores

Päivi Seppälä

paivi.a.seppala@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of history, philosophy of historical sciences, philosophy of science.

Topics of interest: evidence, theories of causal explanation, theory and history of historiography, narrative explanation, case study methodologies, process tracing.

Päivi Seppälä

Tuomas Vesterinen

tuomas.vesterinen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of language, philosophy of science, anthropological theory.

Topics of interest: theories of reference, natural kinds, causal explanation, philosophy of psychiatry (especially culture-bound syndromes).

Tuomas Vesterinen

Anita Välikangas

anita.valikangas@helsinki.fi

Topics of interests: philosophy of social sciences, scientific evidence in policy-making, political philosophy, philosophy of economics, governmentality.

Anita Välikangas

Research Associates

John Davis
Marquette University; University of Amsterdam
john.davis@marquette.edu
Home Page
Methodology and philosophy of economics; Recent history  of economics; The individual in economics; Agent identity in economics

D. Wade Hands
University of Puget Sound
hands@ups.edu
Home Page
Economic methodology; Philosophy of social science; Sociology of Scientific knowledge; History and philosophy of demand theory and general equilibrium theory

Daniel Hausman
University of Wisconsin at Madison
dhausman@wisc.edu
Home Page
Economic methodology; Rationality; Causality; Economics and ethics; Health care ethics; Health measurement

Peter Hedström
The Institute for Analytical Sociology, Linköping University
peter.hedstrom@liu.se

Geoff Hodgson
University of Hertfordshire
g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk
Home Page

Katri Huutoniemi
katri.huutoniemi@iki.fi
Topics of interest: inter- and transdisciplinarity, sustainability, social epistemology, research evaluation, peer review, science policy.

Alessandro Lanteri
alessandro@lanteri.org
Home Page
Experimental philosophy: ethics of economists, Business ethics, Moral judgment, Action theory; Methodology of behavioral economics.

Kyu Sang Lee
kyuslee@gmail.com
Home page
History and philosophy of experimental market economics; Historical and philosophical issues in the relationship between evolutionary psychology and economics; Historical and philosophical issues in the rise of neuroeconomics; Social mechanisms (in social theory) and mechanism design theory (in economics)

Philip Mirowski
University of Notre Dame
Philip.E.Mirowski.1@nd.edu
Home Page

Päivi Oinas
Turku School of Economics
Paivi.oinas@tse.fi
Explanatory structures in economic geography; Economic geography in its relations to neighbouring disciplines; Theory of the firm across disciplines

Diego Rios
diego.martin.rios@gmail.com
General Issues in Philosophy of Science. Reductionism and Reductive Explanation, Unification, Mechanisms. The Explanatory Role of Beliefs. Externalism, Indexicality and Reference-Fixation. Evolutionary Social Sciences. Models of Gene-Culture Interaction.

Matti Sintonen
University of Helsinki
matti.sintonen@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Philosophy of science; Philosophy of the social sciences; Explanation and discovery; Epistemology; Philosophy of language

Robert Sugden
University of East Anglia, Norwich
r.sugden@uea.ac.uk
Home Page
Welfare economics; Social choice; Choice under uncertainty; Foundations of decision and game theory; Methodology of economics; Evolution of social conventions

Jack Vromen
Erasmus University, Rotterdam
vromen@fwb.eur.nl

Home Page
Evolution and economics; Economic methodology; Philosophical and conceptual issues in evolutionary and institutional economics

Jesus Zamora Bonilla
Universidad Nacional de Education a Distancia (UNED), Madrid
jpzb@fsof.uned.es
Application of economic models to the philosophy of science; Philosophy of social sciences, and in particular of economics; Realism and rationality in science