People

Director

Uskali Mäki
uskali.maki@helsinki.fi
Home page

On practical matters, please contact...

Webmaster Pekka Tolvanen
pekka.tolvanen@helsinki.fi


...or research assistants

Sofia Blanco Sequeiros
sofia.blancosequeiros@helsinki.fi

Jannika Lalu
jannika.lalu@helsinki.fi

Pekka Tolvanen
pekka.tolvanen@helsinki.fi

Research Team Helsinki

Sonja M. Amadae

sm.amadae@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Normative theory, political theory, philosophy of social science, history of political and economic thought, security studies, and rational choice.

Sonja M. Amadae

Alkistis Elliott-Graves

alkistis.elliott-graves@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Philosophy of science, philosophy of biology and philosophy of ecology, conceptual and methodological issues in scientific practice.

Alkistis Elliott-Graves

Säde Hormio

sade.hormio@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: collective responsibility, collective agency, marginal participation, complicity, climate ethics, agnotology.

Saana Jukola

Pekka Mäkelä

pekka.a.makela@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: Social action; Social ontology; Moral aspects of social action; Philosophy of the social sciences.

Pekka Mäkelä

Magdalena Małecka

magdalena.malecka@helsinki.fi

I work at the intersection of modern and contemporary philosophy, philosophy of science, legal theory, and the social and behavioural sciences.

Current research interest:
applications of economics to law (especially their methodological and philosophical implications); approaches to law and policy based on findings in behavioural sciences (analysis and critique); representations of nature in the legal and political realm (historical and philosophical analysis)

Magdalena Malecka

Luis Mireles Flores

luis.mireles-flores@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialisation: philosophy of the social sciences, epistemology and methodology of economics, history of economic analysis.

Topics of interest: causal inference, evidence, causal generalisations, practical relevance of science, positive and normative economics in relation to policy-making, the methodology of applied macroeconomics, uses and misuses of econometric methods as sources of evidence, scientific perspectivism, classical political economy, inferential reconstruction of economic theories.

Luis Mireles-Flores

Michiru Nagatsu

m.nagatsu@gmail.com
Home Page

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Social Science; Philosophy of Economics.

Topics of interest: Experimental Philosophy of Science; Metaphysics and Methodology of Behavioural Economics, Experimental Economics and Neuroeconomics; Foundations of Human (Ir)rationality and Sociality.

Michiru Nagatsu

Samuli Reijula

samuli.reijula@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @samulipo

Topics of interest: social epistemology of science; evidence-based policy; nudging; probabilistic modelling (in cognitive science); AI; agent-based models; classification, concept formation & kinds.

Samuli Reijula

Milutin Stojanovic

milutin.stojanovic@helsinki.fi

Research areas: philosophy of science, models, philosophy of sustainability science, philosophy of physics, philosophy of economics, philosophy of experimentation.

Raimo Tuomela

tuomela@cc.helsinki.fi
Home Page

Area of specialization: Philosophy of the Social Sciences, especially the general theory of social action.

Secondary fields of research: Philosophical foundations of cognitive science; General philosophy of science; Metaphysics.

Raimo Tuomela

 

N. Emrah Aydınonat

emrah.aydinonat@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @aydinonat

Topics of interest: Philosophy and methodology of economics, models and explanation in economics, invisible-hand explanations, economics made fun, institutional economics.

Manuela Fernández Pinto

Raul Hakli

raul.hakli@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: collective intentionality, collective epistemology, social ontology.

Raul Hakli

Tuukka Kaidesoja

tuukka.kaidesoja@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: philosophy of the social sciences, mechanism-based explanations in sociology, social ontology, relationship between the cognitive and social sciences.

Tuukka Kaidesoja

Uskali Mäki

uskali.maki@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: Explanatory unification within and across disciplinary boundaries; Modes of interaction between economics and its neighbours; Explanatory pluralism; Economic models and their truth; Economic philosophy of science; Local scientific realism.

Uskali Mäki

Caterina Marchionni

caterina.marchionni@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Areas of specialization: philosophy of economics, philosophy of the social sciences.

Topics of interest: modeling, simulation, scientific explanation, unification, interdisciplinary relations.

Caterina Marchionni

Johan Munck af Rosenschöld

johan.munckafrosenschold@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: organizational studies; institutional theory; inter- and transdisciplinarity; sustainability science

Johan Munck af Rosenschöld

Jani Raerinne

jani.raerinne@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization & topics of interests: philosophy of biology and especially ecology; theoretical community and population ecology; evolutionary biology; environmental sciences.

Jani Raerinne

Mikko Salmela

mikko.salmela@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophical psychology, especially theoretical and applied philosophy of affects.

Topics of interests: the role of affects in the structure and dynamics of social groups; types of collective affective states.

Mikko Salmela

Henrik Thorén

henrik.thoren@helsinki.fi
Twitter @Henrikthoren1

Research interests: philosophy, methodology and ethics of sustainability science, the epistemology and practice of interdisciplinarity, integrated models and climate impact modelling, transdisciplinarity and values in science, the interdisciplinary role of particular concepts such as resilience, ecosystem services, sustainability and self-organisation.

Henrik Thoren

Petri Ylikoski

petri.ylikoski@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: Explanation; Evidence; Social ontology; Philosophy of the social sciences; Evolutionary ideas in the social sciences; Philosophy of science and technology studies; Controversies about explanation across disciplinary boundaries.

Petri Ylikoski

Research Team Tampere

Inkeri Koskinen

inkeri.koskinen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, philosophy of the humanities, science and values, social epistemology, objectivity, relativism, participatory and collaborative research.

Inkeri Koskinen

Arto Laitinen

arto.laitinen@uta.fi
Home Page

Professor of Social and Political Philosophy at the University of Tampere.

Topics of interest: social ontology, ethics and political philosophy, theories of mutual recognition and normativity.

Arto Laitinen

 

Jaakko Kuorikoski

jaakko.kuorikoski@helsinki.fi
jaakko.kuorikoski@uta.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: Explanation; Causality; Mechanisms; Statistical causal modelling; Rational choice theory; Simulation.

Jaakko Kuorikoski

Kristina Rolin

kristina.rolin@helsinki.fi
Home page

Research fellow

Areas of specialization: philosophy of the social sciences, especially social epistemology and feminist epistemology.

Topics of interest: social values in the social sciences, diversity in the social sciences, collective beliefs in science, epistemic responsibility, contextualism in philosophy of science.

Kristina Rolin

Doctoral students

Alessandra Basso

alessandra.basso2@gmail.com

Areas of specialization: philosophy of social science, philosophy of economics.

Topics of interest: philosophy of measurement, experiments in economics, evidence, confirmation, time discounting, evaluation of climate models.

Alessandra Basso

Ilmari Hirvonen

ilmari.hirvonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, philosophy of language, linguistics (psycholinguistics, morphology)

Topic of interest: philosophy of pseudoscience

Ilmari Hirvonen

Mikko Hyyryläinen

mikko.e.hyyrylainen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: cognitive social sciences, field theory, sociology of scientific knowledge.

Tero Ijäs

tero.ijas@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of biology and biomedical sciences, design and engineering, biotechnology, systems and synthetic biology.

Tomi Kokkonen

tomi.kokkonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science (biology, psychology, and foundational issues in social sciences and humanities) and philosophy of mind.

Topics of interest: biological approaches to human mind, behavior and culture; explanation and evidence across disciplinary borders; altruism; evolution of social behavior; evolution of morality; innateness; human nature.

Tomi Kokkonen

Teemu Lari

teemu.lari@helsinki.fi
Twitter @teemulari

Topics of interest: philosophy of economics, pluralism in economics, relationship between science and politics, social epistemology, science and values.

Teemu Lari

Touko Martikainen

touko.martikainen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, interaction between fields of specialization within anthropology, evidence and explanatory competition in the social sciences and humanities.

Touko Martikainen

Matti Sarkia

matti.sarkia@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: social ontology, collective intentionality, mental models, scientific modeling, cognitive science, philosophy of mind and action.

Matti Sarkia

Päivi Seppälä

paivi.a.seppala@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of history, philosophy of historical sciences, philosophy of science.

Topics of interest: evidence, theories of causal explanation, theory and history of historiography, narrative explanation, case study methodologies, process tracing.

Päivi Seppälä

Tuomas Vesterinen

tuomas.vesterinen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of language, philosophy of science, anthropological theory.

Topics of interest: theories of reference, natural kinds, causal explanation, philosophy of psychiatry (especially culture-bound syndromes).

Tuomas Vesterinen

Anita Välikangas

anita.valikangas@helsinki.fi

Topics of interests: philosophy of social sciences, scientific evidence in policy-making, political philosophy, philosophy of economics, governmentality.

Anita Välikangas

Affiliates

Judith Favereau
Université Lumière Lyon 2
judith.favereau@univ-lyon2.fr
Home Page

Manuela Fernández Pinto
Universidad de los Andes
m.fernandezp@uniandes.edu.co
Home Page

Till Grüne-Yanoff
Royal Institute of Technology
gryne@kth.se
Home Page

Wade Hands
University of Puget Sound
hands@pugetsound.edu
Home Page

Frank Hindriks
University of Groningen
f.a.hindriks@rug.nl
Home Page

Harold Kincaid
University of Cape Town
Harold.Kincaid@uct.ac.za

Tarja Knuuttila
University of Vienna
tarja.knuuttila@univie.ac.at
tarja.knuuttila@helsinki.fi

Aki Lehtinen
Nankai University
aki.lehtinen@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Chiara Lisciandra
University of Groningen
c.lisciandra@rug.nl
Home Page

Miles MacLeod
University of Twente
m.a.j.macleod@utwente.nl

Alain Marciano
Université de Montpellier
alain.marciano@umontpellier.fr

Carlo Martini
Vita-Salute San Raffaele University
uni.c.martini@gmail.com
carlo.martini@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @martinicarlo

Martina Merz
Alpen-Adrian-University
Martina.Merz@aau.at
martina.merz@helsinki.fi

Kaarlo Miller
kaarlo.miller@helsinki.fi

Adrian Walsh
University of New England
awalsh@une.edu.au
adrian.walsh@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Julie Zahle
University of Bergen
Julie.Zahle@uib.no
Home Page