Four new Academy Professors and five FiDiPro Professors for the University of Helsinki

The Academy of Finland appointed nine new Academy Professors and nine FiDiPro Professors. Of them, four Academy Professors and five FiDiPro Professors will be based at the University of Helsinki.

Academy Professor

Kaarlo Tuori from the Faculty of Law is one of the fresh Academy Professors appointed for the period 2011–2015. Tuori is in charge of the Centre of Excellence in Foundations of European Law and Polity.

“In the professorship, I can focus on both my own research work and on managing the Centre of Excellence,” says Tuori.

In his research project, Tuori investigates the many constitutions of Europe.

“The idea is to analyse the different dimensions of the European constitution and their inter-relations: the economic, legal, political and social constitution. They open up new perspectives on the interaction between national constitutions and the European constitution, among other things,” says Tuori.

In addition to Tuori, Markku Kulmala (Faculty of Science), Tuija Pulkkinen (Faculty of Arts) and Willem de Vos (Faculty of Veterinary Medicine) from the University of Helsinki were appointed Academy Professors.

FiDiPro promotes the university’s internationalization

The FiDiPro programme provides the opportunity to provide fixed-term employment for professor-level foreign researchers or Finnish researchers who have worked abroad.

The following will start as FiDiPro Professors: Professor Yong-Hwan Lee at the Department of Forest Sciences, Professor Robert Benny Gerber at the CoE in Computational Molecular Science, Professor Robert Rollinger at the Department of World Cultures, Professor Juni Palmgren at the CoE in Molecular Medicine, and Ph.D. Douglas Worsnop at the CoE in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Meteorology of Atmospheric Composition and Climate Change.

Academy of Finland: Academy Professors» »

FiDiPro» »

Text: Tiina Palomäki
Photo: Veikko Somerpuro
Translation: AAC GLOBAL

News of the month »»
News archive »»
University of Helsinki