University of Helsinki to have four doctoral schools

The University of Helsinki wishes to improve doctoral education and enhance its international visibility by establishing four doctoral schools.

University of Helsinki

The University will introduce a doctoral education system consisting of four doctoral schools at the beginning of 2014. The objective is to improve doctoral education and enhance its international visibility.

The research fields of the four schools will not follow faculty or campus structures but will, instead, be based on cooperation in research and doctoral education. The doctoral schools will be established in the following fields:

- Humanities and social sciences
- Natural sciences
- Health sciences
- Biological, environmental and food sciences

The schools will comprise doctoral programmes that are closely related in terms of their scientific foundation. In the future, all the University’s doctoral students will belong to a doctoral programme, which will provide teaching and supervision. The University’s Rector will decide in June which programmes will be running at the University as of 2014.

“The four doctoral schools will be more or less the same size and constitute a well-balanced system, which is sure to offer a place and role to all participants in doctoral education,” says Rector Thomas Wilhelmsson. “This organisation model is a brand new one for the University, and it can be further developed based on the experiences gained from actual operations.”

The University of Helsinki began to reorganise its doctoral education in spring 2012. The work has involved the faculties, current doctoral programmes, professors, researchers and doctoral students.

Text: University of Helsinki
University of Helsinki, digital communications

News of the month »»
News archive »»
University of Helsinki