New University Senate elected

The University Senate, the highest decision-making body of the University of Helsinki, which will begin its term at the beginning of 2004, now has an external member for the first time. Jacob Söderman, the former European Ombudsman, was elected to this post.

The Senate RoomThe University Senate has fifteen members as of the beginning of next year and is chaired by Rector Ilkka Niiniluoto. The Senate’s term of office is three years.

The Senate¬ís five professor members and four representatives of other staff were elected through an online election in November. The professors are represented by (deputies in brackets) Hannu Saloniemi (Eero Puolanne), Jouko Väänänen (Lauri Halonen), Mirja Saari (Aila Lauha), Juhani Keinonen (Marja-Liisa Riekkola) and Carl G. Gahmberg (Martti Marvola). Teachers and researchers are represented by Björn Fant (Paula Ilveskivi) and Pia Mänttäri (Marja Aulanko). Other staff are represented by Elisa Hyytiäinen (Timo-Jussi Hämäläinen) and Kerttu Pellinen (Hilkka Vuorenmaa).

The student members of the Senate were appointed by the Representative Council of the Student Union. They are Lari Ahokas (Ville Väkeväinen), Saija Jokela(Anna-Maria Rajala), Kristian Wohlström (Maria Hollmen) and Walter Rydman (Jussi Tanner).

Jacob Söderman appointed the external member

The Senate was also appointed an external member for the first time. The external member is elected by an Electoral College of 130 members.

Jacob Söderman, Licentiate of Laws, who was elected to the post, has previously served as the European Ombudsman, as well as Minister of Justice, Minister of Social Affairs and Health, Provincial Governor and Parliamentary Ombudsman.

The deputy member for Söderman is Heli Jeskanen-Sundström, MSS, Director General of Statistics Finland.

Text: Niina Haasola
Photo: Eero Roine

Translation: Valtasana Oy

News of the month »»
News archive »»
University of Helsinki